Visitor Page Reviews

< Return To Page

Web Page:
by
Overall Rating: 4.6 stars - 54 reviews

By:
Date: June 21, 2021
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks for the info on oiled floors. Does the cleaner and oil need to be applied by hand, or can a mop or other device be used safely? Thanks very much.
By:
Date: June 3, 2021
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you for a great article on cleaning oil-based floors. I recently had floors refinished using minwax oil based stain and oil based satin polyurethane. They were formerly prefinished high-gloss. Should I be switching to the WOCA oil based cleaners now? Not getting a lot of direction from contractor. Thank you!
Reply by HoskingHardwood : You should contact WOCA directly as they may have cleaners that can be used with floors that have been refinished with "Poly Urethane finish" Or you can use a Bona Kemi cleaner such as this one which does not leave a film or residue.  Some Oil based cleaners are only meant to be used with flooring that has been refinished using just a penetrating oil stain. 
By:
Date: March 4, 2021
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
So glad I found this page. I know that my father used an oil for our floors when he put them in and didnt know how to take care of them till now. I just hope it isnt too late for they are about 50 yrs. old now and always waxed our floors for we didnt know better
By:
Date: September 16, 2020
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very good advice for owners of Oil Finished flooring
By:
Date: August 22, 2020
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Helped me on knowing what clean to use without damaging my oil floot
By:
Date: August 9, 2020
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very good article
By:
Date: July 18, 2020
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I have a new home with oiled hickory floors. I have been trying to find out from the builder what to use to care for them, all to no avail. Your information was quite helpful. Now I need to find the products to care for them. I was supposed to get a floor care kit with the home, but cant get them to bring it out. I will start looking for one myself. Do you have any product sources?
Reply by HoskingHardwood : Since every manufacturer recommends their own product we would suggest calling them they can tell you what to use and where to purchase it.
By:
Date: June 13, 2020
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
have been trying to find out how to care for my oil floors for three years thank you
By:
Date: May 13, 2020
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
awesome, just what I was looking for
By:
Date: April 23, 2020
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful article. Thank you! I have ash oiled wood floors that have been neglected and need some TLC. I have ordered soap and looking forward to restoring them.
By:
Date: April 4, 2020
Page Rating: (1.0/5)
Comments:
Not good at all you led me to the site on how to clean oil floor and all said was use WOCA oil. Then you advertises a product to clean rugs?
Reply by HoskingHardwood : Sorry, Those are rotating ads by Google and we have no ability to control what they put up on our pages or if they relate to any of our articles.  
By:
Date: April 1, 2020
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Any advice on using WOCA care products on Bona Craft Oiled floors?
Reply by HoskingHardwood : We would suggest calling WOCA and or Bona to see what they would recommend using.
By:
Date: March 29, 2020
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Your information is correct. Our installer used the wrong cleaner and it left cracks in the finish. He also used masking tape to secure the protective paper to the floor which left noticeable blister lines. Our contractor didn’t know that the plaster dust sitting on the floor where the paper was torn also had a drying effect. No oil was applied to the floor during the extra year the project was dragged out after the floors were installed. Wish someone had known the proper care oil finished floors required. Thank you for making this article available.
By:
Date: December 8, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very good information, wished I had known about all the maintenance before I had the flooring installed. Probably would have gone with another finish!
By:
Date: May 26, 2019
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Comprehensive information on the care of oiled hardwood floors. Really wished Id researched this when I moved into my house 5 years ago. Been using a steam mop and have dark patches throughout the floor. Would the stain removing oil tackle these or will we have to sand and start again?
Reply by HoskingHardwood : Hi Emma we would suggest calling the manufacturer of the flooring and ask them what they would suggest to use with their product they would be more familiar with the finish they use. 
By:
Date: October 13, 2018
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Any recommendation on how to remove drywall dust fron oil finish floor. The floor has a wire brush finish, and the dust is embedded into the wood grain.
Reply by HoskingHardwood :

Try using a vacuum with a bristle brush

 

By:
Date: September 30, 2018
Page Rating: (1.0/5)
Comments:
NEVER use water to clean your wood floors!! It will ruin and warp them! What kind of article is this?? Horrible advice!
Reply by HoskingHardwood : You must be joking, water and wood don't mix
By:
Date: July 26, 2018
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Thank You! This information is very good. I am about to buy UV oil finished hardwood floors and wanted to know how to properly take care of them.
By:
Date: February 26, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Question for you in regards to the Master Oil! You say it can be used to fill in scratches. When I look at the application instructions, it states the Master Oil should only be used on brand new sanded floors? Could you provide detail on how to use this on used floors to fill in the scratches?
By:
Date: February 4, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
thanks I have been using sc Johnson one step no buff wax on my floors for 26 years it was great! they no longer make it and I am trying to figure out what to use now
By:
Date: January 31, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Just bought a house with oiled wood flooring. Thanks for the useful information.
By:
Date: January 31, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
the information was very helpful
By:
Date: January 16, 2018
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
can you sand an oil finish floor and finis with polyeurathane?
By:
Date: November 15, 2017
Page Rating: (3.0/5)
Comments:
I have, what I think are. Polyutherian Floors. We have been using the steam mop, wet mop but are now concerned we have been doing the wrong thing. We vac 1st then use something wet - should we be using an oil mop instead?
By:
Date: July 13, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent. Realistically, Im not going to mop my new floors that way though. Maybe I should have gotten the aluminum oxide!
By:
Date: June 25, 2017
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
good article.
By:
Date: June 22, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent. Easy to understand and answered all my questions.
By:
Date: June 10, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you so much for this article.
By:
Date: May 11, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Most Helpful,thank you.
By:
Date: March 31, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This is just what I am looking for. A very good article, tells me everything I needed to know.
By:
Date: March 20, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you so much. The information is clear and well set out.
By:
Date: March 19, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Clear and helpful information; thank you!
By:
Date: January 25, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Most informative.....thank you
By:
Date: January 3, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
thanks for the great info!
By:
Date: November 30, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
excellent advise thankyou
By:
Date: November 29, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent, informative clear instructions
By:
Date: November 29, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent, informative clear instructions
By:
Date: October 21, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you! Great info, and very helpful for the beginner. I will come back to it once we are ready for the upkeep of our oiled floor too.
By:
Date: September 18, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Your article is very well written and easy to understand. Best on on the internet.
By:
Date: August 28, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Answers all the questions I have regarding my oiled floors. They have been in for 9 years and Ive never done anything to them but damp mop them. Now I know why they are starting to look their age. Immediate intervention is needed!
By:
Date: August 15, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful!
By:
Date: June 28, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
perfect
By:
Date: May 14, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
AFTER MY OILED HARDWOODS WERE INSTALLED I WAS TOLD TO USE A FLAT MICRO FIBER MOP WITH SOME KIND OF SPRAY, MY FLOORS LOOKED HORRIBLE...I CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND I WAS TOLD TO USE WOCA....IVE USED BOTH SOAP AND OIL AND IT WAS WHEN I USED THE OIL THAT MY FLOORS FINALLY CAME TO LIFE...I CANT BELIEVE THAT THE PEOPLE WHO INSTALLED MY TOLD ME TO USE SOMETHING THAT WAS NOT RECOMMENDED AND THEY WERE SUPPOSED TO BE FLOOR EXPERTS...HOWEVER IM HAPPY NOW WITH WOCA PRODUCT.
By:
Date: May 7, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This information was exactly what I was looking for. Thank you for having such a good article.
By:
Date: February 22, 2016
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
You can make your own floor cleanser using a quality vegetable based liquid soap. You will have to dilute it to 15-30% soap (like WOCA). Dr. Woods, Dr. Bronner have suitable products I have used on my oiled wood floors. They work wonderfully.
By:
Date: February 11, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great advice. Just bought a house with an oiled wood floor. Gorgeous but the new owner is clueless
By:
Date: October 26, 2015
Page Rating: (1.0/5)
Comments:
Unfortunately impossible to read on iPad. Whole background covered in rating-type stars, obscuring the text
By:
Date: October 24, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very good article. Woca is the best, but very expensive. They make the oil refresher also. Are there any alternatives to Woca that are a bit more reasonably priced?
By:
Date: October 8, 2015
Page Rating: (2.5/5)
Comments:
I believe the main message in this ip article is Dont Use standard cleaners on ur floor...Bono suggested..damp mop not wet mop!
By:
Date: August 25, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very good. Would have liked a name for an Oil Refresher I could hunt for plus link to buy
By:
Date: August 18, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Well done informative and relatively unbiased
By:
Date: October 31, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very nice job
By:
Date: September 25, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great information - just what I needed.
By:
Date: August 26, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Learned a lot