Visitor Page Reviews

< Return To Page

Web Page:
by
Overall Rating: 4.7 stars - 55 reviews

By:
Date: July 6, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
My mom got her hardwood floor professionally installed and we trusted the guy because thats what he does for a living. He even worked on local markets. Years later, our floor suddenly puffed up. There were water leakage in the basement. We had to cut out a section of the floor and I realized the "professional" guy didnt put anything underneath to help with the moisture, and there were no gaps along the wall under the floor moulding either. I was devastated that he did that to my mom knowing that we both dont know much about this and trusted him. This really helped me understand the correct process. Thank you.
By:
Date: June 4, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
VERY GOOD EXPLANATION ON HOW TO INSTALL A NEW FLOOR
By:
Date: May 20, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great article. Very helpful. Thank you. A question: I am about to install 3/4" thick, 3 1/4" wide oak flooring in 2nd floor bedrooms. The manufacturer recommends 3/4" gap at walls. This seems exorbitant. When I remove the baseboard there is a gap (although usually less than the 3/4" thickness of the wood) between the drywall and the subfloor. Can I get away with a smaller gap between the end of a row and the bottom of the drywall? The drywall bottom shouldnt offer much resistance to wood expansion. What if I cut the drywall bottom to make the gap 3/4" - that would give the wood an extra 3/8" at each row end to expand... Necessary?
Reply by HoskingHardwood : If a problem occurs a Hardwood Flooring inspector may be called in to see how the flooring was installed. If it is not installed as per the stated manufacturers warranty they can decline the claim.  Due to wood having the ability through its cell structure to naturally absorb (swell) and release (contract in size) excess moisture within the environment causing the flooring to expand and possibly buckle, its recommended to leave the proper expansion gaps at all fixed objects.  Manufacturer also excludes warranty provisions caused by environmental conditions they cannot control.  Some installers cut the drywall up from the floor allowing an additional 1/2 inch leaway so that when the baseboard is installed it covers the gap. How To avoid Problems 
By:
Date: March 31, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
When laying nail down 3/4” hardwood, is laying parallel to the joists always forbidden? My house has 5/8 fir as a subfloor from the 1960s. I re-secured it with decking screws after removing carpet/pad/homasote. I had no choice to run it parallel because the floor joists switch direction halfway along the hallway...so far so good usIng 16 gauge cleats and finish nails. I have a few other rooms connected to the hallway that would require me to continue with the parallel design in order to maintain consistency (clean look). Is this ever acceptable? What is the failure rate?
Reply by HoskingHardwood : As a rule of thumb it is better to run new flooring across the floor joists which greatly reduces any bounce in the floor system. Can you add a layer of plywood to the old to stiffen it (if you get any bounce between the joists.)
By:
Date: February 14, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good comprehensive article.
By:
Date: December 4, 2018
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Something I cant wrap my head around: if each board is nailed down, how can it expand up to half an inch along the wall? I would think the expansion gap is needed only for floating installations? The nails wont move sideways or bend half an inch, so what am I missing here?
Reply by HoskingHardwood : Picture a hundred boards within a floor each absorbing excess moisture and expanding 1/64 of an inch in width that's = 1.5625. The pressure can pop the nails and buckle the boards when they hit a fixed object like walls. 
By:
Date: September 16, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
excellent, simple,direct, thank you.
By:
Date: September 7, 2018
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I think I will take my laptop into the first room and follow the instructions, so I dont omit something that will cause problems later.
By:
Date: August 1, 2018
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Did not cover OSB subflooring used by many builders today.
Reply by HoskingHardwood : OSB information is talked about in one of our other articles called "All about subfloors "
By:
Date: July 11, 2018
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful
By:
Date: May 26, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Its all i need. Thanks.
By:
Date: May 26, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Its all i need. Thanks.
By:
Date: February 18, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks!
By:
Date: February 7, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you so much for the guidance! Perfect article!!!!
By:
Date: February 1, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
thanks
By:
Date: January 15, 2018
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Good comments and guidance for us new to the process.
By:
Date: October 23, 2017
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Excellent information
By:
Date: October 16, 2017
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
How far do you over lap the joints on 3/4 hickory
By:
Date: June 12, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very good information about details, more information why no nailing should be used with click lock?
By:
Date: June 1, 2017
Page Rating: (1.5/5)
Comments:
it is a nice picture of lumbers and harwork
By:
Date: March 27, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great information for a new diy installer. Thanks for posting
By:
Date: March 13, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very good article. Getting ready to install hardwood floors in two rooms with help from a friend who has done this type of work before.
By:
Date: February 25, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
awesome article..............very detailed with lots of great tip THANKS!!
By:
Date: February 6, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I searched the web and read many but this is the best instruction, very detail and easy to understand. Thank you.
By:
Date: January 5, 2017
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Easy to read, adequate depth and breadth of the subject.
By:
Date: December 3, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great information! Thank you for sharing. After reading your article, I have more confidence in getting my flooring project right. Sweet!
By:
Date: October 4, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
The tips are very helpful. Im a do it yourself and find the little things makes a big difference. Like carpenter shims!
By:
Date: September 19, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Wow. Im installing flooring for the first time and this has been a wrath of knowledge. Thank you!
By:
Date: July 2, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent info!
By:
Date: March 25, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
great help
By:
Date: February 16, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good Info, I Learned A Lot. I Know I Will Hire Someone Now. I Think. Thank You
By:
Date: February 3, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Applying to my situation. My question was on plywood over older 3/4" TG should the new 3/4" ply be butted or space at all ends and sides allowing for moisture movement. I will allow 3/16 spacing covering with click and lock laminated flooring robert
By:
Date: January 21, 2016
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative, but pictures along with what youre saying would be helpful
By:
Date: January 12, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This is the best sight on the web. I have read many and the explanations are clear very informative. Thankyou so very much.
By:
Date: December 10, 2015
Page Rating: (3.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks for the article, I know it took a lot of time.It doesnt mention the nail gauge for face-nailing. It seems that this detail is not popular, but as a professional tile setter; I know that all details matter. But you would have to write a book to include everything.
By:
Date: September 24, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
thank you.
By:
Date: September 12, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Im going to install 20by20 hardwood flooring after removing the carpeting. Ive looked a several instruction sheets, and your, by far, is the best. Thank you, thank you, thank you very much for your assistance.
By:
Date: August 20, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great Info
By:
Date: August 5, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent instructions.
By:
Date: July 25, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Ive installed 3/4 hardwood before. I wish I had your instruction then. Thanks!
By:
Date: June 2, 2015
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
I would love to hear your opinion about the pro/cons of the 3 vs 5inches width. Thanks!
By:
Date: May 26, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Good guide
By:
Date: May 12, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I will be doing three more rooms and this information will make starting the floors much easier.
By:
Date: February 1, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I was wondering how I was to use the nailer when close to the walls and now find I need a different gun. Thanks
By:
Date: January 26, 2015
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
This is just like the tile guys you want the greatest subfloor I have a solid kitchen floor over no subfloor the boards are all 8 foot long
By:
Date: January 18, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very clearly written
By:
Date: December 9, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and helpful page. Easy to understand and good tips for installation
By:
Date: October 19, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you! The information is concise and very helpful. Ive reviewed allot of sites in preparation for installing new hardwood flooring in our house and this is one of the most complete, easy to understand sites Ive found. Thanks again!
By:
Date: September 24, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
all the basics, on one page, about installation that I needed to know
By:
Date: March 10, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very useful information.
By:
Date: November 5, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent introduction to some of the finer points. It would help to have more detail about maintaining consistent runs and what to do when joining rooms where the tongue and grove cant be used and the boards will not come together perfectly.
By:
Date: July 2, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent. Your advice saved me several headaches. Thank you!
By:
Date: May 17, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Useful but what about the cork underlayment, and is the Black Felt paper, tar paper or not?
By:
Date: March 23, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative
By:
Date: November 29, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good Tips thanks