Visitor Page Reviews

< Return To Page

Web Page:
by
Overall Rating: 4.8 stars - 117 reviews

By:
Date: March 27, 2019
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
What about resistance to water? Can your floors be washed with soap and water or do they tend to imbibe the water and swell? My current lower end laminates require special cleaning agents so warpage is minimized. Also, how well do your floors stand up to office chairs on rollers?
Reply by HoskingHardwood : Please see our article here on Hardwood Floor Care
By:
Date: September 9, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful
By:
Date: April 3, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Lots of information. Your article address and answered all of my questions
By:
Date: February 12, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Such an informative article, thank you for explaining the "why" and "reason" for the different aspects of choosing and installing floating wood floors.
By:
Date: January 24, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and detailed. Just what I needed.
By:
Date: December 19, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you
By:
Date: December 2, 2017
Page Rating: (3.0/5)
Comments:
Although I find the article verify informative and helpful I am even more confused at floating floors than before. I realize that I am a simpleton but how about a little more on the moron level. Thanks
By:
Date: August 23, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information and well written. Thanks
By:
Date: August 1, 2017
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Really great article and very inclusive on the pros of floating floors. One thing that I was looking for was the lengths of floating floors before a transition piece is recommended. The transition pieces are kind of a barrier to having a continuous and uniform look in long or wider rooms. I still havent found my answer but I will keep searching but your article included just about every other facet to consider before making a large investment such as flooring. thank you.
By:
Date: July 27, 2017
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Very good
By:
Date: July 25, 2017
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Extremely helpful in it`s broad knowledgable content .... thank you!
By:
Date: May 12, 2017
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Your website is very informative, thank you for the detailed information.
By:
Date: March 31, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great article
By:
Date: March 8, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This article was an excellent source of information. Thank you
By:
Date: February 16, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good information that you can understand.
By:
Date: February 11, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This was very helpful thanks Maureen
By:
Date: February 8, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I need to pick a floor to go over my in-floor heat, great information, thanks, Ron G
By:
Date: December 28, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent article Written so a novice can understand Thank you
By:
Date: December 27, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Regarding Disappointed John - John which manufacturer did you use?? I install floating floors all the time from many different manufacturers and they (most) are easy to install and perform great! Maybe that local retailer didnt know how to install these floors. There are millions of click lock floating floors installed every year. Sorry you had a bad experience.
By:
Date: December 27, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Article was GREAT! Wish I wouldve read BEFORE installing my click-lock hardwood flooring. Have to agree with john ponzini - its junk! Would NEVER do it again. Save yourself grief and either nail of staple "real" hardwood flooring. I researched carefully nad listened to the advice of my local retailer before purchasing & installing. Looks like a fallen deck of cards flopping all over the place with unavoidable gaps occurring no matter what I do. Ill have to pull it up, try to resell the leftovers and start from scratch. Pissed off!
By:
Date: August 12, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
What are your thoughts of caulking between the bottom of the baseboard and the top of the flooring
By:
Date: July 12, 2016
Page Rating: (3.0/5)
Comments:
engineered hardwood looks like laminate and usually has pockets of loose or "wavy" sections. Very sensitive to moisture. Its junk
By:
Date: July 11, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
great info. thank
By:
Date: June 1, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Before today I was 99% sold on buying and having someone experienced installing it (Lowes, Home Depot, etc.), but after reading your article, and questions and answers I feel very confident in doing the job myself. Thank you!!!
By:
Date: April 3, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good info, helps me to make my decisions.
By:
Date: March 28, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great thanks
By:
Date: March 19, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Another great article. Id like to ad a bit of information I didnt see (which doesnt mean it wasnt there). I live in Phoenix, AZ, where humidity levels are quite low and dont fluctuate much, and concrete slabs seldom show any moisture, so theres no reason you cant just glue flooring right to the concrete. However, theres VERY good reason you wouldnt WANT to. That urethane glue costs as much as a good underlayment, and it is insidious to work with. No matter how careful you are, youll wind up with glue EVERYWHERE! Before it dries, its clear, and after it dries, its VERY difficult to remove. And if you get it on your hands (you will), The only thing that gets rid of it is time. Youll be wearing that glue for 2 or 3 days. "Gloves", you say? That might keep it off your hands, but when it gets on the gloves, you wont know it, so youll wind up spreading glue even farther. And if you make an error and have to pull some boards up, even if the glue hasnt set yet, you may as well just take those
By:
Date: March 18, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful article! You helped me make up my mind. Thanks so much!
By:
Date: March 5, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Thank you for this education!
By:
Date: February 13, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks Youve brought this to both the knowledgable handy man and the novice to understand
By:
Date: January 13, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful for making a choice on the style, quality and design.
By:
Date: November 11, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Article helped me understand why my bamboo floor moves after heavy rains. This appears to be normal.
By:
Date: November 4, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information
By:
Date: November 4, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information
By:
Date: November 4, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information
By:
Date: October 28, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
none
By:
Date: October 24, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative since we are interested in DIY cick flooring. Thank you
By:
Date: October 13, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
A very concise and comprehensive article that answers about 95% of all my questions about planning a hardwood flooring project.
By:
Date: September 20, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
would have liked to know how many square feet per hr or per day can be installed esp stapled
By:
Date: August 11, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
excellent excellent thorough very thorough would like more on click vs tongue groove advantages and disadvantages
By:
Date: August 3, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I greatly appreciate the info. You saved some time and money. Thanks.
By:
Date: July 24, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very helpful
By:
Date: July 18, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Ive learned more here than actually going into stores AND speaking to contractors. Thank you!
By:
Date: July 12, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very clear and helpful
By:
Date: June 25, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent for the novice
By:
Date: June 2, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
made it vey easy to understand all about floating engineered floors...tnx
By:
Date: May 22, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
First time DIY and needed the advice -- great! Thanks
By:
Date: April 28, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very informative
By:
Date: April 26, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This article is very well-written and thorough.
By:
Date: April 19, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Nice coverage of information on the structure of the boards and underlayment, thanks
By:
Date: April 15, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent
By:
Date: April 15, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Floating wood floor information for under floor heat should be the best and cheaper than wood floor from china since click lock flooring as well as US quality will cross out undesired expenses.
By:
Date: April 4, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information!
By:
Date: January 17, 2015
Page Rating: (1.0/5)
Comments:
we are renting a 4 floor townhouse that is carpeted throughout. I like flooring. How much would it cost to put flooring over the carpet on two floors and how it it transitioned to the stairs if stairs keep carpet? Dlehri@aol.com
By:
Date: December 28, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Well said!
By:
Date: October 11, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
The information is awesome and easily understood. I hope I can find a good deal and color in purchasing the floating floors. Thank you
By:
Date: October 2, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
easy to understand
By:
Date: September 29, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative, learned a lot of info . Thanx
By:
Date: September 25, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful information provided.
By:
Date: September 13, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Other sites I looked at first are more concerned about selling me without addressing my questions about the process of engineered flooring. I would be more inclined to purchase from hosking since that is the site that was more interested in helping me.
By:
Date: September 6, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This is the perfect information that I needed. I have laminated flooring now but want to replace it with engineered wood flooring. I just hope I can find the good flooring and not the cheap wood.
By:
Date: August 31, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information - makes me want to install the flooring.
By:
Date: July 31, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent in every respect. Written clearly. Arranged logically. Easy to find articles and answers to FAQs. Impartial, not advocating one brand or system over another. Writers speak from business experience. Honest, trustworthy, and credible.
By:
Date: July 13, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Fantastic information - great article
By:
Date: June 21, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful
By:
Date: June 20, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This was a very helpful overview overall. Especially well written, it was a delight to read. Good visuals as well. Thanks.
By:
Date: May 1, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Excellent. Good basic information with specific topics for more information.
By:
Date: April 23, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Answered all of the questions I had before reading the article
By:
Date: April 22, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you! I appreciate that you shared all this useful information
By:
Date: April 11, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative !
By:
Date: March 15, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative; thank you!
By:
Date: January 28, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent. Well written article. Provides information needed to make an informed decision.
By:
Date: January 19, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I am in the process of DIY project. I wish I would have read this instead of buying a $40.00 DIY book. Your article is very easy, clear and well illustrated that I actually enjoy reading. Thank you!
By:
Date: December 29, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent info!
By:
Date: December 24, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I appreciate your article. It was well written and explained the flooring in easy to understand language.
By:
Date: December 23, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Good article. Still have questions about foam underlay.
By:
Date: November 22, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
The article covered everything I had questions about.
By:
Date: October 23, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Makes me feel confident to get longevity out of a floating floor.
By:
Date: October 13, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
5 stars
By:
Date: September 19, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information. Very helpful. Thanks! p.s. I am a real human, but was once a registered alien as per the US Govt. :)
By:
Date: September 18, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
great information. Thanks!!
By:
Date: September 12, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very good information
By:
Date: August 28, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great information. Best web site found reference understanding flooring. Thanks
By:
Date: August 14, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks!
By:
Date: August 10, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
informative
By:
Date: July 16, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Excellent!!!
By:
Date: July 3, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I am researching wood flooring and found this site to be one of the most informative.
By:
Date: July 2, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent overview of the subject!
By:
Date: June 21, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very informative
By:
Date: June 12, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent article
By:
Date: June 7, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very good!Thanks
By:
Date: May 10, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
This was a great article for a do it yourselfer. I was particularly impressed with the various installation options discussed
By:
Date: May 9, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Outstanding information.
By:
Date: May 6, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very precise.
By:
Date: April 26, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent article, complete and detaied! I have really appreciated it! Thank you
By:
Date: April 17, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Robert, they wrote a real good article on formaldehyde in wood flooring in their Blog. I tried putting the link here but links are not allowed.
By:
Date: April 16, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Are ant pre engineered wood floors fomaldihide free in the lock and food Bruce floor
By:
Date: April 13, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great job, good info. Thanks.
By:
Date: April 11, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Kim the hardness ratings are explained within their other articles "Wood Hardness Chart" look in the left menu
By:
Date: April 6, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Outstanding my only addition would be a discussion on the hardness of the available woods.
By:
Date: March 26, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
very good. But how about the transition to floating at tiles floor?
By:
Date: March 25, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Your articles are very informational. They are very helpful. Truly appreciated!
By:
Date: February 24, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I am going to put a floor down and heard the floor may raise up. The only thing I can think is the person did not leavr 1/4 in. gap on the sides. Floating floors are the way to go for a new fresh look
By:
Date: February 16, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great articles I too am having a problem in Florida with unfavorable comments for any wood flooring. Can you help?
By:
Date: February 15, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
good explanation of the process and materials-- thanks
By:
Date: February 12, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Thanks for the good info. We had an engineered wood floor installed in the mountain of AZ over concrete as we were told never to glue down engineered flooring. We moved to FL and here every place we go to that sells wood flooring, even reputable installers all say never float engineered wood flooring over concrete floor the manufacture label says you can do either. I went looking online & found your article. After reading this I am confused as to why so many differnt companies we have gone to in FL where there is a lot of humidity there is so much resitance to floating the floor. We are looking at Anderson Hickory. From your article it sound like floating wood be the easier and best option.
By:
Date: February 9, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Best article Ive seen
By:
Date: December 23, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Learned a lot. Very helpful!
By:
Date: October 28, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
The article was great, but when I used your need help finding the right floor your site indicated there werent any found. The issue is there is no way to remove an answer or reset it to start over. Now I must move on to another site for help.
By:
Date: October 19, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great article. Very helpful! Thanks!
By:
Date: October 14, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very informative
By:
Date: October 3, 2012
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Good info
By:
Date: September 25, 2012
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
Excellent review with minimal commercial bias.
By:
Date: September 21, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Thanks.
By:
Date: September 7, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellant information -- Thanks
By:
Date: September 2, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good artical. Thank you
By:
Date: August 27, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
The flooring articles here are a must read for everyone thinking about purchasing flooring. Thank you for all this information as no flooring store I have been been able to answer my questions. Saving up to purchase here soon.