Visitor Page Reviews

< Return To Page

Web Page:
by
Overall Rating: 4.4 stars - 50 reviews

By:
Date: August 6, 2019
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Thank you. Everyone at work looks at me strange when I say I am replacing my carpet with hardwood flooring. I have decided on Bamboo flooring thick enough to be refinished when we sell our home. Having moved from a 100 year old home with 100 year old oak floors, I knew that if I kept looking and was willing to spend good money I could find appropriate hardwood flooring for my home with four dogs.
By:
Date: May 2, 2019
Page Rating: (3.0/5)
Comments:
It all sounds good and its helpful, but the bottom line is, proper training, keeping nails clipped, selecting more durable products simply doesnt prevent damage, it only minimizes it. All animals will have accidents on occasion. Especially as they get older. There WILL be damage. Their nails will always be an issue. Weve been through all of this for 30+ years. Enjoy your four legged family members (as we all do) but be prepared to completely redo your floors, scratched doors and door frames.
By:
Date: February 22, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you for a very informative article which answered my question thoroughly.
By:
Date: February 17, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and gave me a better idea of which wood flooring to chose.
By:
Date: January 7, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This was just what I was looking for. I have 2 large Lab/Sheppards and am having new flooring installed. We needed insight for scratches and some suggestions which is just what this article had. Perfect
By:
Date: October 8, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Ive read several of your articles and have found all of them to be helpful. Im trying to decided between engineered and solid wood floors. Thanks for the great information.
By:
Date: August 3, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful information before purchasing new floors.
By:
Date: July 29, 2018
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
What products do you use on an pre finished oiled floor with a new puppy? I would like to know the best way to clean up a dog’s vomit and urine without damaging the floor or leaving an order.
By:
Date: June 11, 2018
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I believe now they have like these rubber glove type of thing that fits over each nail on the dogs paw so this keeps him or her from scratching the floor
By:
Date: June 8, 2018
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very helpful information
By:
Date: April 10, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you for the pertinent information. We have maple oiled floor andI did not know we had to oil the floor every year. Since the beginning we had problems in cleaning the floor, and we always used the recommended procucts I realise by reading your article that the floor needs re-oiling and probablu did not have enough oil to begin with. . When we bought the pre oiled maple wood, the manufactor told us that we never would have to oil it. We should have done a research before. . Thanks!,,and I was happy to learn that maple was a good choice since we have 2 dogs :-)
By:
Date: February 26, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Lots of information that was very helpful with our hardwood floor problems.
By:
Date: November 12, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent thank you
By:
Date: July 22, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Since this is actually Goldies apartment (she allows me to live here as long as I continue paying the mortgage and HOA fees) I am grateful for the advice on how to find her the perfect wood floor. I will look for wire brushed maple. Thank you for such a great article.
By:
Date: April 19, 2017
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
have two small older dogs and my carpet gets professionally steam cleaned every three months. Ironically I have hardwood in my kitchen and they never pee in there! So I am now going to do all hardwood. Thanks for the advice. Maple too!
By:
Date: February 13, 2017
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Good information, would be nice to see some pictures with exa8
By:
Date: December 28, 2016
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
This is the most useful information i have found when searching for info on the best floor for pets when their claws are the problem...
By:
Date: December 11, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Especially appreciated the comments about big dog nails and grain. I hadnt thought Id go toward a heavy grain. Now may do so...
By:
Date: September 4, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
The article was very helpful. Thank you. I had to laugh at the comments due to the fact they were all in question form and it clearly states that you cannot reply to questions here.
By:
Date: July 26, 2016
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
What if my dog is eating the hard wood floor. Dont ask how but they are how do i stop that?
By:
Date: June 30, 2016
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
I was specifically seeking advice about solutions to cat vomit staining on hardwood flooring. I was quite disappointed that you could only suggest cleaning it up immediately. I work all day and that is not always possible. Is there a coating that can be applied to the floor to help avoid the absorbtion of these acidic enzymes?
By:
Date: June 15, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
How much does it cost to fix the wood floor damaged with dog scratch? 1500sqft
By:
Date: June 8, 2016
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Would love to know which are safest for animals -- i.e. slip factor. Which floors provide better footing to prevent hip and knee injuries?
By:
Date: May 24, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful article. :)
By:
Date: May 17, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great article, but I would like to know what kinda of flooring everyone picked for the homes with active kids and pet
By:
Date: April 30, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great Article, very informative!
By:
Date: April 26, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This is a very helpful article, not only for choosing hardwoods when you have very large dogs and many animals, but also how to care for them. Thank you!
By:
Date: March 20, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great article. The article not only gave tips for caring for hardwood floors, but was informative regarding best types of wood floor to use with pets. In my case 130lb Great Dane, and different types of woods such as handscraped and engineered acrylic impregnated hardwood floors that are better at hiding, and stronger to protect against dents and scratches.
By:
Date: March 20, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great article. The article not only gave tips for caring for hardwood floors, but was informative regarding best types of wood floor to use with pets. In my case 130lb Great Dane, and different types of woods such as handscraped and engineered acrylic impregnated hardwood floors that are better at hiding, and stronger to protect against dents and scratches.
By:
Date: March 12, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great tips
By:
Date: January 27, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent info
By:
Date: January 18, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very informative
By:
Date: January 11, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Answered my questions!
By:
Date: November 19, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent, especially for someone that is confused on what types of wood there are.
By:
Date: August 24, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good info as far as it goes. Tenant, 3 dogs badly penetrated oak flooring for 7 years. Will remain for another 7 until the dogs die off. How to attend to the flooring in the least expensive and most impermeable treatment til then?
By:
Date: July 27, 2015
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks. I found some very useful information on this page. Terms I have never heard before which gave me more information to use in selecting our new floors.
By:
Date: July 15, 2015
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
I thought this was really good information, I too would like that tough answer, what about the urine that seeps into the cracks and down into the lower layers of the wood. It would seem that the lower layers of wood will soak this up like a sponge?
By:
Date: July 14, 2015
Page Rating: (1.0/5)
Comments:
was looking for how well engineered hardwood stands up to dogs compared to solid hardwood - which we already have. There was nothing new in the article
By:
Date: July 8, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Impressed that you solicited readers comments.
By:
Date: May 25, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great info. Wish it let us know how to choose between pre-finished engineered and pre-finished solid wood.
By:
Date: March 24, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I think the article is great it answered all my questions. I am not sure why the other people below could not find there answers (which were explained above). People should learn to read slower.
By:
Date: January 11, 2015
Page Rating: (2.0/5)
Comments:
I am aware of the scratching due to pet nails. I am interested in the result of a possible accident between the boards that is not noticed right away. Would the wood warp or mold because they arent sealed?
By:
Date: July 28, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Looking to purchase engineered wood flooring. what about when your dog pees on the floor? especially if it sits there for a few hours when we go out.
By:
Date: August 28, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
great
By:
Date: August 18, 2013
Page Rating: (1.0/5)
Comments:
While the information on housetraining pets and clipping their nails was sufficient, I was looking for information on how the wood flooring stands up to dogs running on it and how easily this wood flooring scratches when dogs nails touch it. I want to buy wood flooring, but everyone tells me the dogs nails will ruin it. Please tell me whether or not engineered wood flooring can withstand pets. Thank you.
By:
Date: August 8, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Good advice, but I was looking for advice on color of wood. I heard a lighter color wood hides dog scratches better than darker wood.
By:
Date: March 19, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Another great article!
By:
Date: February 28, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
:-)
By:
Date: January 26, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I wish that I had seen this before purchasing Engineered Wood Flooring. I think we are ok with what we purchased but this is pefect information. Thank you!
By:
Date: January 2, 2013
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
Good article; however I have the Brazilian Cherry Bonita and have to mop every night as it shows everything. It is driving me nuts. Any suggestions?