Visitor Page Reviews

< Return To Page

Web Page:
by
Overall Rating: 4.7 stars - 260 reviews

By:
Date: September 17, 2021
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
We want an engineered hardwood to use throughout the house. We want approx. 5 to 7 in. wide. We like a look of handscraped red oak or close . Recommend? Wr now have prestained Somerset real hardwood, but with my health limitations I cannot take care of it.
By:
Date: January 22, 2021
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
The Hosking site generously provides the reader with comprehensive, well-thought-out information. Much appreciated!
By:
Date: September 21, 2020
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful for a newbie.
By:
Date: June 7, 2020
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Informative article
By:
Date: June 7, 2020
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Informative article
By:
Date: May 19, 2020
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This was very informative for someone like me with no experience in this field. I especially appreciated all the attachment references for specific types of wood and the hardness chart.
By:
Date: April 29, 2020
Page Rating: (1.0/5)
Comments:
Didn’t learn a thing
By:
Date: September 28, 2019
Page Rating: (3.0/5)
Comments:
Good info overall. Does NOT provided distinction between USA hardwood and Canadian hardwood, what are eachs benefits, drawbacks and recommendations.
By:
Date: September 24, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
good info. Was thinking about Indonesian flooring - did not think about quality control. need estimate on 5600 sq ft.
By:
Date: August 25, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
The information that you have provided was very helpful The kitchen floor info might be the best for my home with pets
By:
Date: August 13, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful.
By:
Date: July 29, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I found it very helpful and I learned a few things past research did not reveal and you changed my mind about finishing the wood myself. A lot of your information is common sense but still helpful, thank you
By:
Date: June 20, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Extremely helpful
By:
Date: April 21, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative article
By:
Date: April 13, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful
By:
Date: April 2, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
We’re remodeling I’m home you would like to upgrade it get an estimate to do the whole house 10,000 square-foot home not every room by five bedrooms and a full basement
By:
Date: February 8, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
we are building a new home and we are looking for the hardess wood floor available . we also have a nice german shepperd so hoping to have no marks on the floor. we installed at the cottage enginneered flooring but was hoping to install conventionnal wood flooring . Oak?
By:
Date: February 8, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
we are building a new home and we are looking for the hardess wood floor available . we also have a nice german shepperd so hoping to have no marks on the floor. we installed at the cottage enginneered flooring but was hoping to install conventionnal wood flooring . Oak?
Reply by HoskingHardwood : Oak is a hardwood and if your concerned about dogs marking it up then you may want to go with a character grade because of the character within the boards help mask minor marks or scratches. You may also be interested in our article about Pets and hardwood flooring
By:
Date: December 25, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
good article ease to understand
By:
Date: September 25, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you for answering many of my questions. I was happy that there was a place I could go to where everything was in one place.
By:
Date: September 18, 2018
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Great information and insights, I have a better understanding of what to be looking for when selecting hardwood floors
By:
Date: September 15, 2018
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very understandable and informative.
By:
Date: August 26, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Well done
By:
Date: July 14, 2018
Page Rating: (1.0/5)
Comments:
All you say is "buy a good one." Well, duh. You give almost every manufacturer 5 stars. Then other sites give them 2 stars with lots of complaints about peeling wood and finishes, etc. advice is to get engineered wood with 9 layers and more than 3mm hardwood. But then you give 5 stars to product with 3 layers and 2mm hardwood. If youre going to promise to answer a question. Like what is the best hardwood floor buy, you should be prepared to man up and take a stand, not pump out a load of obsequious mush.
Reply by HoskingHardwood : We are sorry we did not provide you with an answer to your question in our articles. This article pertains more to what is the best flooring styles to use in a particular room of your home and the inherent issues that may be expected with hardwood flooring . With regards to our ratings - you should click on the "?" mark next to each style 5 star rating chosen to read what our rating for that particular product is. One may not agree with our opinions. If you go to our Site Map we have written a lot of articles that you may or may not find very informative. 
By:
Date: May 29, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you so much for this response! To date, I have been most impressed with selection and pictures of available flooring on the Kahrs website so I was sad to see reviews. The other area of concern in their specs was "color change...noticable color change over time"...is this to be expected with all wood floors and hard wax oil finish? Other manufacturers of consideration have been Monarch Plank, Du Chateau, LM Flooring and Linco Enterprises. Numerous negative Houzz reviews of Provenza also initially scared me away. Better to place concern with finding flooring to meet search criteria than reviews on customer service...ie. wear layer of 3.5mm+, finish, etc.?
By:
Date: May 27, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great to see a recommendation for manufacturer as I just spent an hour or more navigating Kahrs website only to sadly discover (shortly thereafter) several negative reviews of their flooring in terms of durability, potential spill damage and customer service. This search is proving more difficult than anticipated, so good to learn of more companies to investigate. Hate to let a few bad reviews turn interest elsewhere, but hard to ignore as many as discovered...especially in terms of customer service. Thoughts?
Reply by HoskingHardwood : Hi Wendie a few years back wood floors didn’t have any warranties, why? Because wood flooring is walked on, tramped on, furniture is dragged over it, dirt and stones are ground into it, dogs nails scratch the finish etc. etc. etc.  You wouldn’t do that on the hood of your new car? Flooring manufacturers nowadays try to outdo their competition and boast about having a 10-20-50 year warranty.  But when you read their warranties they really don’t cover much if anything.  Usually the people who have given a product a poor rating are usually the ones who were either misinformed about how the flooring would perform or abused the product then complained about it.  Kahrs in particular sells millions of square feet a year and the majority of people who take care of the flooring love it.  Prefinished wood floors (from a reputable manufacturer) are very durable but still be scratched and worn over time.
By:
Date: May 9, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
First time for wood floors in my living room so many brands of hardwood totally confused of what brand to buy two people no pet Second-floorWould like hardness and scratch resistant
Reply by HoskingHardwood : Hi William Prefinished wood floors (from a reputable manufacturer) are very durable but still be scratched and worn over time.
By:
Date: April 6, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful Exploring options for a Southern California residential application
By:
Date: March 28, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great explanation and what I need to know our hardwood floor is 50 years old and looks pretty good but the finish is dull and we have black spots here and there. What I need to know is can we put a new hardwood floor on top of the old one? Thank you
Reply by HoskingHardwood : Hi Muriel have you thought of having your existing wood floors sanded and refinished? Doing so would most likely bring the floors back to an almost new condition, the black spots may be uric acid stains from pet urin that may not come out. But to answer your question you may want to copy and paste this link into your browser and look for the paragraf that pertains to installing new floors over old - https://www.hoskinghardwood.com/Department/Hardwood-Floors/All-About-Subfloors--installing-flooring-over-various-sub-floors.aspx?dId=7&pageId=2
By:
Date: March 27, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I have a pet .I have to change my mind about getting wood floor. Thank you
By:
Date: March 12, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
article was very good
By:
Date: March 8, 2018
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
The article is titled "What is the best hardwood flooring to buy"? The question is never answered but instead explains the differences between solid and engineered hardwood as well as, different uses and requirements throughout the home. Although he doesnt appear to push a brand, he does specify the "best brands" which of course he carries. The emotional, impulse buyer has no use or desire for information which is probably why most retailers dont offer it. This site seems to appeal to those who want to know. Good article.
By:
Date: February 27, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Explains everything I was looking for. Needed to know the applications for real hard wood versus engineered.
By:
Date: February 8, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This is the first site to truly explained about hardwood floors and the manufactures that are the best.
By:
Date: January 18, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great information
By:
Date: January 9, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
excellent synopsis of wood floors
By:
Date: January 1, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This is just what I was looking for. I live in South Carolina along the coast and my house is built on a slab. I needed to know which would be best for installation in my house. Thank you for the information
By:
Date: December 15, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I have to disagree with Brad with regards to prefinished flooring. Prefinished flooring from a quality manufacturer is more durable than the finish that I can purchase because their finish is applied and basically cured during the manufacturing process and that finish is the durable Aluminum oxide finish. We the sanding and refinishing contractors cannot get aluminum oxide. The available finishes we can only get are not as durable because the EPA has demanded that finish manufactures take out a great amount of the urethane solids that used to make them durable. And they can take up to 4 weeks to fully cure making them more susceptible to scratching.
By:
Date: December 14, 2017
Page Rating: (3.0/5)
Comments:
ThIs article is not accurate when it states: "Additionally, pre-finished flooring is so much more durable than its site-finished counterpart". The reason is that factory finishes using the UV lights for hardening are now offered by many refinishers including the "NHance" named franchises and use a product called "Lightspeed" that is as hard as the factory finish.
By:
Date: December 6, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful in navigating the best type of floor for us.
By:
Date: December 5, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
The best article on wood flooring I have read
By:
Date: December 5, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
The best article on wood flooring I have read
By:
Date: December 4, 2017
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
best hard wood for bedroom
By:
Date: November 3, 2017
Page Rating: (3.0/5)
Comments:
Would be nice to know which wood is more durable and prone to less shrinkage in arid areas.
By:
Date: October 12, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative website, and clearly written so the mind can stay focused on absorbing the information. Info for selection, value and health.
By:
Date: September 27, 2017
Page Rating: (2.5/5)
Comments:
I like to know about hampton series vs impression series value and price wise.
By:
Date: September 24, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Really enlightened on the topic of wood vs. engineered. Also, informed about wood types used in humid areas (like mine) and the reason for not using solid wood flooring. Thank you, I hope to select the appropriate flooring for my home which is traditional with pool traffic and pets.
By:
Date: September 23, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good start for a novice who has been reviewing numerous sites for info.
By:
Date: August 12, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Ive been reviewing hardwood floors for about a year and a half now; by far this is the most concise and informative article Ive read. Thank You!
By:
Date: August 11, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
PLEASE SUPPLY ME WITH BRANDS AVAILABLE IN SOUTH AFRICA, GAUTENG THANK YOU
By:
Date: July 20, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Need make hardwood floor choice ASAP. How is the quality from Bruce, comparing with those you mentioned above? Canadian manufacturers (Lauzon, Vintage Hardwood Flooring, Mont Royal, Northern Lights ). Thank you very much.
By:
Date: June 23, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I am in the process of building my home located in Southern Pines NC and would like to know which type of wood flooring will be the best
By:
Date: June 17, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
this is excellent information-very important when selecting hardwood floors-I heard the best thing to do is to go in the store and look at what you are buying is this true?
By:
Date: June 16, 2017
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Good place to start
By:
Date: June 12, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Article above went over the basics of flooring styles. To Lorena (below) : There are many types of prefinished engineered flooring some manufacturers like Lauzon make an optional style of square edge engineered (no bevel). There are also different style bevels and they have an article on this site that explains them. I would suggest that everyone go to their "Site Page" to see links to all their very informative articles.
By:
Date: June 10, 2017
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
You forgot to mention that engineered wood flooring has grooves. I dont like that look of having gaps between each plank. Also makes it really difficult to sweep as all the dirt gets in between. We installed solid white oak on concrete but the installer put plywood underneath it so it was more expensive but its worth it. Looks so much nicer than engineered wood. I was also told by my floor guy that engineered wood can only be refinished max 3 x in its life.
By:
Date: June 5, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Now I need to choose one like yesterday
By:
Date: May 29, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
solid and strong
By:
Date: May 27, 2017
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Good article but would have liked to have had more information on the different woods that can be used.
By:
Date: May 20, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
After reading the information you provided, I made my final decision. This will be my first time having my floors done in engineering hardwood.The article was most helpful.
By:
Date: May 13, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Appears to be a fine product, and worth considering.
By:
Date: May 11, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Thank you!
By:
Date: May 5, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very informative .. great website for researching wood floors.
By:
Date: May 4, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Looking for the best engineered hardwood floor to purchase.
By:
Date: April 17, 2017
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I have learned a lot will come back to this page
By:
Date: April 17, 2017
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I have learned a lot will come back to this page
By:
Date: April 14, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Enough specificity to be very helpful.
By:
Date: April 12, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful information. Thank you
By:
Date: April 11, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This page has been very helpful for me, because this will be my first time having to deal with purchasing new floors.
By:
Date: March 23, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
i LEARNED ALOT.
By:
Date: March 23, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Your article was very helpful. I know nothing about choosing a hardwood floor. I now feel more informed after reading your information thank you !
By:
Date: March 20, 2017
Page Rating: (2.5/5)
Comments:
Very helpful information. Totally appreciated every bit of your well delivered info.
By:
Date: March 9, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful for someone who knows nothing about buying hardwood floors! Thank you!
By:
Date: March 8, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful, like that brands are recommended
By:
Date: March 6, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative Thank you
By:
Date: March 4, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks for info
By:
Date: February 21, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great info.
By:
Date: February 18, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
want to use on my living rm and dinning rm
By:
Date: February 5, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great informative article. Covers basics and then some. Appreciate product recommendations. Lots of poor quality coming in.
By:
Date: January 23, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative for the first time wood floor buyer----thank you.
By:
Date: January 18, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative
By:
Date: January 14, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
first article to learn about hardwood floors. great start!
By:
Date: December 28, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Good article. And yes, if you have a dog, or dogs, wood can get ruined!!!
By:
Date: December 27, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
very well covered the things to consider when floor shopping I would suggest this to everyone.
By:
Date: December 25, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Thank you, feel more confident about making a purchase.
By:
Date: December 20, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This was very helpful and it will leave me to additional links which I believe will also help provided great path to making a decision
By:
Date: December 20, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This was very helpful and it will leave me to additional links which I believe will also help provided great path to making a decision
By:
Date: December 16, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I found this article great. To the person who posted below, Tyler be careful when reading online reviews. Consumers that are unhappy with their purchase of whatever it may be, are far more prone to exaggerate or be vindictive and broadcast their unhappiness than a happy or content consumer is to boast about their purchase.
By:
Date: December 13, 2016
Page Rating: (3.0/5)
Comments:
Good article however I have been reading reviews on Bruce flooring which was suggested and I hear people dont like it. As a matter of fact there were more negative reviews than positive. It seems as if you are not able to find quality products these days. I like to do my research before I make purchases and I think im just going to keep my dingy carpet. Id love hardwood but I have not heard of one company that makes outstanding products. I dont want to pay 6000 for new flooring and end up having issues. I also hear that damage caused from pets is not covered. I hope my daughter never wants a dog.
By:
Date: December 7, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you very helpful
By:
Date: November 21, 2016
Page Rating: (3.0/5)
Comments:
I would like more specifics on rankings of wood floor manufacturers in terms on product quality. For example, where does Bruce rank? I read mixed reviews.
By:
Date: November 20, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you. This article was very helpful. I am first time home buyer and I know nothing of wood flooring just how nice it looks. This article helped me understand the basics of hardwood flooring.
By:
Date: November 11, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
This is very informative for people who know little to nothing on hardwood flooring.
By:
Date: November 2, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Helpful, concise, condensed information. Great pictures and information. Thank you.
By:
Date: October 10, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Thank You!
By:
Date: October 3, 2016
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Good information on the top two wood
By:
Date: October 3, 2016
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Good information on the top two wood
By:
Date: September 21, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very Informative!
By:
Date: September 18, 2016
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
Am selecting new floors for my house and would like to go with pre finished wood. Would you please rate Palmetto Road Hickory color Lexington. Thanks so much. This also includes the kitchen
By:
Date: September 13, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very informative and helpfull. It answer many questions I have including quality and brands to trust.
By:
Date: September 11, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very informative.
By:
Date: September 6, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
It helped me a lot to read this article!
By:
Date: September 1, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
excellent
By:
Date: August 25, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent
By:
Date: August 21, 2016
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
very helpful, thank you.
By:
Date: August 16, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good information before choosing a hardwood floor.
By:
Date: August 4, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I live at the ocean. Interesting comments about engineered flooring.
By:
Date: July 5, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
great atricle
By:
Date: June 30, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excelent article directed to new customers.
By:
Date: June 18, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
As a first time homeowner, this information is very helpful.
By:
Date: June 13, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great article and very informative
By:
Date: June 12, 2016
Page Rating: (2.0/5)
Comments:
how do rate the above manufacturen
By:
Date: June 9, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Betty check out their other articles. Especially the article on "Customer Expectations when buying hardwood floors" that article goes over wood flooring grades.
By:
Date: June 8, 2016
Page Rating: (2.0/5)
Comments:
What about wood grades? Really important info.
By:
Date: June 4, 2016
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
I appreciate the naming of CA manufacturers, thank you. Please also add the names of a few US manufacturers.
By:
Date: May 28, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you so much for your article. We are building a home and I didnt know what flooring to buy. Thanks again for your time.
By:
Date: May 22, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Excellent information except for one thing. You could give a little more reference to the use of underlayment and the effect it has when covering a concrete floor. I made the mistake of not researching this and having a contractor put a low end underlayment down. The result is a cold uncomfortable condo floor. Four years later I am learning about cork underlayment for warmth and comfort but the cost of replacing the floor is prohibitive
By:
Date: May 9, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information!
By:
Date: May 2, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I think the "Title" of this article exactly represents the articles contents, as it recommends types of wood floor construction and what floors commonly go with particular rooms of the home. NO article is going to know what your personal tastes are to narrow it down to size, thickness and color. Another note if anyone wants to learn a lot about wood flooring check out all thier articles, go to the site map. Spend the time to get educated. I did and I am buying my flooring here because this company is the only one out there that provides this free very imformative information that big box floors sales staff have no clue to, already been there done that!
By:
Date: May 1, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very helpful - seem to have covered most everything - now need to find a local dealer....
By:
Date: April 25, 2016
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
1000 sq
By:
Date: April 17, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Vandana is Awesome !! Gave me many samples and good explanations of pros/cons of each product. Price was Excellent. I would use their services again.
By:
Date: April 17, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
we find a deal and ship to our door for a great price. Vandana patiently listened to my requirements and then recommended a beautiful hardwood for my living room and bedroom. We love the handscrapped old mission and feel it is a high quality product.
By:
Date: April 16, 2016
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
The title suggests the reader will be given information about which flooring to purchase, but the article only speaks generally about appropriate flooring applications. This information is common knowledge and brings the reader no closer to finding a good floor than speaking with a sales representative at s big box store.
By:
Date: April 15, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent article. I was looking for advice on bamboo flooring.
By:
Date: April 10, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
First time I have actually started to research hard wood flooring. I found the article very informative. Thank you.
By:
Date: April 1, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very helpful. More brand names would be helpful
By:
Date: March 23, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I have been shopping hardwood flooring and the article certainly helped me a ton. I have been on what seems like a million websites but very few go into any details with regards to comparisons between prefinished and non, and engineered and solid. So thank you for the facts.
By:
Date: March 13, 2016
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
I have been very torn on flooring. This has really helped.
By:
Date: March 11, 2016
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
It would be helpful to list specifically what features to look for when comparing the quality of hardwood.
By:
Date: February 14, 2016
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Ive installed a few floors using both pre finished and raw hardwood 3/4. With Engineered flooring hitting the market hard lately I wanted info on comparisons. This does a good job explaining it. I totally agree that the prefinish Alum Oxide is a GREAT option is you can afford it and dont plan on refinishing your floor. That finish is so durable it is almost impossible to take off without overpaying a professional. Just a thought. Great article.
By:
Date: January 25, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I FOUND YOUR ARTICLE TO BE VERY HELPFUL IN MY SEARCH FOR WOOD FLOORING
By:
Date: January 20, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very good information, thank you!
By:
Date: January 16, 2016
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Helpful
By:
Date: January 12, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great overview and informative. Thanks
By:
Date: January 8, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great source with just the specific information I needed. Thanks.
By:
Date: January 5, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
excellent article-I learned a great deal. We are getting ready to build a home and we want wood floors throughout. Need to ask builder what kind of subfloor he is putting down
By:
Date: January 2, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent Article and helps me with in the choice i will make.
By:
Date: December 19, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent article. Very informative and practical. Thank you.
By:
Date: December 18, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
4.5
By:
Date: December 4, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Fantastic, very informative. I will use this information when installing hardwood. Thank you Nancy
By:
Date: November 29, 2015
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
Good article for people begging their search for information If the breads mentioned are not paid advertising then it is considered very helpful
By:
Date: November 29, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great information
By:
Date: November 23, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you for the advice!
By:
Date: November 13, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Most helpful.
By:
Date: November 2, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good information.
By:
Date: October 31, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful article, now if I can only find the right color.
By:
Date: October 27, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
For a first time hardwood floor purchaser like me, this article was very helpful.
By:
Date: October 20, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very informative. Thank You
By:
Date: October 5, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
The articles are just great! Now I know what to look for in hardwood flooring.
By:
Date: October 3, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very helpful and thorough. Thank you!
By:
Date: October 3, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I learned something new,greate
By:
Date: September 30, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Brilliant, but my confusion to rest thank you a million.
By:
Date: September 30, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Brilliant, but my confusion to rest thank you a million.
By:
Date: September 27, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful, thanks
By:
Date: September 26, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
need to know about what brands and qualities to use on ocean front new house
By:
Date: September 24, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very clear and helpful. Thank you
By:
Date: September 24, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very clear and helpful. Thank you
By:
Date: September 23, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very clear description
By:
Date: September 20, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Awesome beneficial
By:
Date: August 28, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
thanks, very helpful
By:
Date: August 25, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
The very best that I have read.Thank You
By:
Date: August 11, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Simply Excellent.
By:
Date: August 9, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very easy to read and understand for my initial research for hardwood flooring.
By:
Date: August 9, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Helpful information about living in humid areas.
By:
Date: August 8, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very easy to understand for a person like me who has little dealings with hardwood flooring.
By:
Date: August 6, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
EXCELLENT ARTICLE
By:
Date: August 5, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
None at present
By:
Date: August 5, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful. Enjoyed, easy reading. easy to comprehend for first time wood floor buyer. I am drawn to espresso, wide plank, for my living room space, busy, kids, dog. What brand do you recommend. Please and Thanks
By:
Date: August 5, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful. Enjoyed, easy reading. easy to comprehend for first time wood floor buyer. I am drawn to espresso, wide plank, for my living room space, busy, kids, dog. What brand do you recommend. Please and Thanks
By:
Date: July 10, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
wood floor
By:
Date: July 1, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
A great beginning to our search We chose engineered flooring due to the points in your article. Thanks!!
By:
Date: July 1, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Great information to start my purchase.
By:
Date: June 20, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great
By:
Date: June 16, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Informative
By:
Date: June 16, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great info. Avg homeowner - 400sq ft living room, Jack Russel, grandkids, concrete, so you might say heavy use. Want light color hardwood - engineered acceptable. limited income (SS). Looking at Lowes & HD $3-$4 sq ft. Any recommendations on your product?
By:
Date: June 13, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very useful Thanks
By:
Date: May 31, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very helpful. However Id like to see your recommendations of US flooring companies as you did for the Canadian companies at the end of the article.
By:
Date: May 31, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great information and recommendations!
By:
Date: May 29, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful
By:
Date: May 23, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent....
By:
Date: May 15, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This is helpful
By:
Date: May 15, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very useful information.
By:
Date: May 4, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
valuable information
By:
Date: April 25, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very helpful and informative.
By:
Date: April 21, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful - thank you!
By:
Date: April 17, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you for detailed info, just what I was looking for!
By:
Date: April 16, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very informative
By:
Date: April 15, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
well done.
By:
Date: April 14, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I finally understand the differences and the proper installation of the flooring.
By:
Date: April 3, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and gives you a direction in which to start.
By:
Date: March 30, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great information
By:
Date: March 24, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This site has a Ton of informative articles. You can see them in the left menu and listed on the sitemap page.
By:
Date: March 20, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Helpful info.
By:
Date: March 20, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very useful information. One thing I was looking for was issues with pets denting or scratching hardwood flooring and what hardness would eliminate these two issues.
By:
Date: March 9, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
It was simple and informative which it made me feel educated on the differences of the flooring.
By:
Date: February 28, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful as we start our search for hardwood flooring to replace tile in a very sunny home. Will check out Lauzon for sure.
By:
Date: February 28, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful as we start our search for hardwood flooring to replace tile in a very sunny home. Will check out Lauzon for sure.
By:
Date: February 22, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you very much. Very helpful.
By:
Date: February 18, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
this has helped me better understand each type of flooring and what I need to look for in my home.
By:
Date: February 17, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful, good I formattion for first time buyers.
By:
Date: February 14, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and detailed in descriptions of product. And well written!!!
By:
Date: February 12, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative article
By:
Date: February 10, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This article was great. We almost made a big mistake. I am so glad I read this article before I purchased the hardwood floor. I may have to start at ground zero again, but it will be worth it. Thank you for putting out such an informative article.
By:
Date: February 9, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you so much for all the information. Very informative and a big help for my future flooring project.
By:
Date: February 9, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you. Have a better understanding of "where to start...".
By:
Date: February 6, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Quite informative for a newby. Thanks a bunch.
By:
Date: February 5, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative Im in the early stages planning floor selection and article is very helpful.
By:
Date: January 31, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent!!information,Thanks
By:
Date: December 10, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
We havent purchased yet, but found this site to be full of useful information.
By:
Date: December 5, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Great information. Thank you!
By:
Date: November 17, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
This was very informative Good info and has opened my mind to potentially choose engineered flooring as we live in a humid climate and plan on getting a dog.
By:
Date: October 22, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative for someone with no knowledge and want unbiased information. thanks much
By:
Date: October 16, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
The best hardwood flooring site I have encountered. Appears to be open and honest.
By:
Date: October 11, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
its pretty informative, thx
By:
Date: September 19, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very helpful.
By:
Date: September 16, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This was very informative and asa result has broadened my choices to include engineered flooring.
By:
Date: September 15, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you
By:
Date: September 10, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great info!!!! Thank you.
By:
Date: September 4, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative.
By:
Date: September 2, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Informative.
By:
Date: September 1, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you - all the info I have been looking for!
By:
Date: August 31, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very Informative
By:
Date: August 28, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
What are the top names in real hardwoods
By:
Date: August 20, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
great info!
By:
Date: August 18, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Exactly the information I needed to make a smart decision. Thank you!
By:
Date: August 4, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Good information. I would like to know the durability of floors with ease of scratching. How can this be corrected?
By:
Date: July 25, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very good information.
By:
Date: July 23, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative.
By:
Date: July 2, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Great information and covered most questions I had, including the pets comments.
By:
Date: June 16, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful! Helped clarify the options.
By:
Date: June 2, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Louise, I have been all over this website reading their very informative articles that help educate us all. What your looking for is located in under the brand collections where it gives the consumer the option to give their opinion as to what they think of a particular floor. FIY - I was in customer service for a long time and found that usually the only time someone would take the time to comment about a product was when they think they had a problem with it.
By:
Date: June 1, 2014
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
What I would like to see is reviews by people who have various kinds of wood flooring in their homes to see if they have any issues with any type, brand or color. Some may show scratches, for example. Wood flooring providers have something to sell and they may not be so forthcoming about problems as customers would be. We need ssome real world reviews.
By:
Date: May 16, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
This write-up provided useful, general information.
By:
Date: May 14, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent article. Thank you for making it available.
By:
Date: May 4, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
i live on the ocean in florida need 2000 sq ft?
By:
Date: April 30, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Hickory
By:
Date: April 23, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good info!
By:
Date: March 29, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This page is great filled me in on a lot of things I did not know about flooring thank you :-)
By:
Date: March 28, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Just the information I was looking for, thank you!
By:
Date: March 22, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great! Very informative and helpful.
By:
Date: March 6, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative
By:
Date: January 31, 2014
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful.
By:
Date: January 2, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful, thank you
By:
Date: November 19, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Glad I found this site! Great info.
By:
Date: October 31, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful
By:
Date: October 16, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful
By:
Date: September 25, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent Resource to know what type of wood to choose from.
By:
Date: September 18, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great webpage - very helpful
By:
Date: September 6, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Was most educational, thank you so much, helped greatly.
By:
Date: September 2, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Easy read...very informative. Just the info I was looking for. Thanks!!
By:
Date: July 3, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great explanation of engineered wood flooring. Answered many questions not found elsewhere
By:
Date: June 24, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
VERY NICE RESOURCE
By:
Date: June 11, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This is a resource worth reading. Thanks o muh!
By:
Date: April 27, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Well explained and highly informative.
By:
Date: April 2, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Nice! Thanks
By:
Date: March 31, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very straightforward and helpful!
By:
Date: March 31, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very straightforward and helpful!
By:
Date: March 19, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Your article "Whats the best hardwood flooring" answered a lot of my questions. Thank you
By:
Date: March 15, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Good article thank you!