Visitor Page Reviews

< Return To Page

Web Page:
by
Overall Rating: 4.7 stars - 62 reviews

By:
Date: October 24, 2021
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
good advice, thank you
By:
Date: August 26, 2020
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I am a beginner. This is the best article I found to educate me on the gauges of floor staples and nails.
By:
Date: February 23, 2020
Page Rating: (2.0/5)
Comments:
My question is 16 or 18 gauge cleats. The article talks about length, but is not helpful concerning what gauge nails are better for 3/4" solid oak flooring.
By:
Date: January 19, 2020
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very helpful
By:
Date: January 2, 2020
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information, concise and to the point. Thank you!
By:
Date: October 13, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I am looking for 18 ga. STAINLESS STEEL L-Cleats because I live near salt water, and the air is very salty. Can you help?
Reply by HoskingHardwood : Try searching in google for "STAINLESS STEEL L-Cleats for flooring"
By:
Date: August 16, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
excellent
By:
Date: July 15, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks for the info. I have radiant heat under a plywood joist subfloor. Is it ok to use 1-1/2" nails for 3/4" solid flooring? Need to keep the nails out of the tubing.
Reply by HoskingHardwood : To answer your question you would need to figure out the thickness of your existing plywood to find a proper nail length. I would suggest having a professional come in to evaluate the job so that the nails do not penetrate the radiant heating tubes. I would also recommend using a floating floor over the radiant heat which is better suited for over radiant heat systems.  
By:
Date: May 2, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I got OSB for my floor. rip the rug out. Bought vinyl tiles. I was told I need 1/4 under layment to get the job done and to use shank nails. What do you recomend to nail these 1/4 panels. shank nail, staples or cleats?
Reply by HoskingHardwood : For nailing 1/4 inch underlayment we use either 1- 1/4 ring shank nails or staples 
By:
Date: March 6, 2019
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Where do I find 18 ga x 1-1/2 in staples?
Reply by HoskingHardwood : Try Amazon 
By:
Date: December 13, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great info, very helpful.
By:
Date: December 9, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you for the detailed explanation on what size cleat to use. Makes my job as a DIYer that much easier.
By:
Date: September 13, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great info but what size do you use if its a concrete slab with 1/2" glued down? 3/4" stock being used.
By:
Date: September 6, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
The information is very helpful i really appreciate the help Thank you very much.
By:
Date: February 25, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Just what I needed. Thank You
By:
Date: February 20, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
First results in Google with a straight correct answer. Thank you!
By:
Date: February 2, 2018
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
very nice
By:
Date: November 27, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
short and to the point
By:
Date: October 23, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I’m installing morning star bamboo 1/2inch think, what size staples should I use? Thanks
By:
Date: July 26, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Im lating morning star bamboo 1/2 inch thick what gauge amd length staples should i use please
By:
Date: July 12, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
How do you remove these staples? Specifically the staples for engineered hardwood.
By:
Date: May 20, 2017
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
Exactly what I needed to know straight up thank you so much thats a wrap for the day Ive got the wrong size staples
By:
Date: April 18, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
The information is presented clearly and the picture and links to the tools makes identification almost idiot-proof. Good job.
By:
Date: April 4, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Exactly what I ask for. No sales talk. No links. Only good solid and straight information
By:
Date: September 24, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
3/8 t and g enginered hardwood floor.......what size of nails should i be using
By:
Date: May 22, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I bought 3/8" Engineered Hardwood flooring to be nailed down. Directions were 1 1/2 inch staples 70-80 PSI on stapler. When we went to staple floor it destroyed the wood at the tongue. We lowered pressure to 40 PSI and it still did the same thing. I suggest 3/4" wood. I ended up gluing down the floor and it cost me more than double on installation. Lumber "Ripoff" Liquidators.
By:
Date: April 13, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great quick reference so I dont sound like a moron at the hardware/rental store. Thanks.
By:
Date: October 23, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
my first time doing hardwood floors at my new home and found this site extremely helpful and made the job a lot easier
By:
Date: August 22, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
fantastic for a first time DIY hardwood floor installer
By:
Date: August 6, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
good quick info
By:
Date: August 1, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Im installing a solid wood floor and dont really know what Im doing so this page was VERY helpful and easy to understand. Thank you
By:
Date: July 20, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent aid for newbies to engineered hardwood installations!
By:
Date: July 1, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks
By:
Date: May 10, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I have been researching this valuable information for a long time. I finally obtained an answer. Im installing 3/4" solid hardwood.
By:
Date: March 16, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Im pretty sure Im an ape/robot hybrid.
By:
Date: March 9, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Perfect information. Exactly what I was looking for.
By:
Date: February 25, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I am shopping for a floor nailer and this was very good information
By:
Date: January 20, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information and the illustrations are extreme helpful. Thank you!!
By:
Date: January 16, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Quick guide to know which size staple for each thickness of flooring. A great help!
By:
Date: December 12, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Was a bit confused about the nail type and size to use on the 3/4 inch Oak with the 3/8 inch plywood over subfloor. This gave me the answer - Great page
By:
Date: October 24, 2014
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
very good. but you should add an opinion or advice between cleat nails or staples
By:
Date: October 21, 2014
Page Rating: (2.5/5)
Comments:
You dont give an opinion with regard to solid flooring is being fixed directly to floor joists
By:
Date: July 1, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent info! "The little things"..most questions like this dont get addressed or answered by "the big box store professionals" nor paid attention by sone DYIers or tv home improvement shows/videos. No floor installation is rocket science, but ty very much for the information..
By:
Date: June 9, 2014
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
This gives almost all of the information I was looking for. The only thing missing is is angle at which to drive the nails for certain uses. I understand this is also an important factor to reduce squeaking in the future.
By:
Date: April 20, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Exactly the information I was looking for. Thanks.
By:
Date: March 18, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Thanks a bunch.
By:
Date: February 24, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very helpful
By:
Date: November 27, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
excellent reference-thanks
By:
Date: September 30, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
excellent review thanks
By:
Date: August 11, 2013
Page Rating: (2.5/5)
Comments:
Length is only half the equation, what about gauge?
By:
Date: May 22, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks
By:
Date: April 15, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful
By:
Date: April 9, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Perfect! Thanks for easy access info!
By:
Date: February 18, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks. You answered my questions. Now I can install with the right size staple.
By:
Date: January 5, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
thank you
By:
Date: December 15, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Just what I needed to know! Thank you.
By:
Date: December 10, 2012
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
good information
By:
Date: October 28, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I appreciate FACTS that are not readily available on other Web sites specializing in DIY flooring design and ordering.
By:
Date: October 23, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks, very helpful and to the point.
By:
Date: September 20, 2012
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Good info. Thanks!
By:
Date: September 13, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
sweet reference page
By:
Date: September 4, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very good