Visitor Page Reviews

< Return To Page

Web Page:
by
Overall Rating: 4.5 stars - 17 reviews

By:
Date: August 5, 2018
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
So, the grading doesnt mean less quality? Im trying to purchase hardwood flooring and always wondered the price differences even within the same species.
Reply by HoskingHardwood : The higher the grading (Select & Better) generally means you will see more uniformity in color between boards (depending on wood species) with no or less knots. The lower the grade you chose the more natural character you will get such as knots, shorter board lengths, darker boards and mineral streaks . There is a fairly wide allowance within each grade for boards that may fall out of that grade so when purchasing any wood flooring allow an extra 5-10% for cutting and culling waste. Some styles like wide board oak flooring with knots and character are in demand and are at premium pricing. Choosing which manufacturer to purchase from can also be tough unless you have experience with working with them and/or are capable of determining a quality product from a bad or mediocre one. Flooring contractors and retail store sales staff can have a wide array of opinions on their favorites.  
By:
Date: March 25, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Wish I knew this before. I have many black knots on engerneared flooring just installed not expected when flooring delivered and opened. Only a few were opened. I dealt with it because the color was very important as well. Told the installer to put those under bed, closets, etc. told him my bedroom was the room I needed to be without as many. Unfortunately my bedroom was the biggest room and was done second to last. Mannington was the manufacturer. Now I have black knots I want to try and soften. Any suggestions? The floor does have cream/ white tone. Light floor but not whitewash or grey. Thank you
By:
Date: March 5, 2018
Page Rating: (1.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks for updating this nice and good blog. I really like it.It is very useful and informative blog. keep sharing more post like this.
By:
Date: October 9, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Until I found your web site, I was not getting enough information about hardwood flooring to make the best decision to meet our needs. I know so much more now that I have used your site. Great prices, too.
By:
Date: October 4, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excelent article weighing pros and cons using information not many people know. Gives instructions on what to look for and how expectations can be met with careful planning. I came away with specific items to check for when I shop. Thats good!
By:
Date: August 25, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful information about grades.
By:
Date: June 20, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thoughtful, detailed information. Best article Ive read on wood flooring. It suggests that your company gives a lot of care in the selection of wood flooring.
By:
Date: November 5, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and well written.
By:
Date: June 4, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
thank you, you provided us with very detailed and professional information
By:
Date: March 15, 2014
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Suggestions for hardwood with and without variations in color would be helpful.
By:
Date: February 8, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Information is what people are looking for and this web site delivers just that, nice job I will consider this site when I decide to do my floors.
By:
Date: June 18, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Your website provides very useful information for my flooring project. Thank you!
By:
Date: June 14, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Good information
By:
Date: April 28, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very happy I found this website. It explained some of the terms being used by the contractors.
By:
Date: November 2, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Personally, I have been searching the web and I think the article is one of the best sources of information I have read. It explains what the different grades are and informs the consumer the many options that are available with wood flooring that are not usually told to them at time of purchase. I have learned a lot and now know what to look and ask thank you.
By:
Date: September 16, 2012
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
There is some very good information on this site but a good editor should be consulted to correct numerous grammar, punctuation, etc., errors. The errors were in direct contrast to the level of material being presented and were a distraction. Here is an example: "There are few flooring Manufacturers that make their own moldings they are manufactured by other companies that provide that service." Also, part of the information candy-coats the use of poor grades of lumber in flooring, and part of it does not. Poor wood grades are simply poor wood grades, even when they are considered to have character or charm. There are functional reasons knots, splits, holes, etc., are not preferred in finish work. Wood with imperfections, lack of natural consistency and milling irregularities may be appropriate for some settings, but that does not make it wonderful wood.
By:
Date: August 27, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Well explained and very honest. I have never seen any of this information anywhere. Thank you