Visitor Page Reviews

< Return To Page

Web Page:
by
Overall Rating: 4.3 stars - 10 reviews

By:
Date: September 7, 2019
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very informative. From your article I would conclude that white oak should be the trend but you indicate that red oak is nore popular and trending to 3 1/4 boards over 2 /14.
By:
Date: September 28, 2016
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Doesnt red oak absorb water much more easily than white? Doesnt that mean that white oak wont warp much compared to red also?
By:
Date: April 22, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I have some willams j.l.and sons john select grade white oak reclaimed flooring cwn you tell me more about it and if i can get a good price
By:
Date: November 23, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
This article helped to make our decision Red Oak vs White Oak.
By:
Date: July 17, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Full of information..THANK YOU !!
By:
Date: June 23, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Answered my questions exactly. THANK YOU!
By:
Date: June 13, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
good article
By:
Date: March 18, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
White oak is harder than red oak so I am going to use White oak. I like the golden color better when finish is applied in white oak too.
By:
Date: October 25, 2012
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Henri...Its not the fault of the wood. Even if the wood flooring was acclimated before it was installed the environment within the home has to be maintained to what the wood flooring was acclimated at. If the moisture level within the home increases later after the flooring is installed the wood flooring will absorb this excess moisture and swell causing the edges of the boards to cup upward. It sounds like the flooring was not acclimated correctly to what the normal relative humidity was going to be on average day within the home. All wood species will do this whether or not it is red oak or white oak. From reading the different articles this site has they consistently recommend proper acclimation and procedures to help maintain proper RL levels by using dehumidifiers or humidifiers if needed.
By:
Date: October 24, 2012
Page Rating: (2.0/5)
Comments:
We bough Sommerset red oak planks from you in 2011. Its been a disaster. Despite acclimating on site, the floor is cupped terribly. A local installed told us we should have used white oak because it is more stable. If this is true you should warn people who live near the coast. At some point-- -money willing-- we have to spend $8K to have the floors sanded and redone. Huge disappointment.