Visitor Page Reviews

< Return To Page

Web Page:
by
Overall Rating: 4.8 stars - 48 reviews

By:
Date: April 9, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Could you tell me the proper kind of nails to use when putting 3/4 inch hardwood flooring down when you have plywood underlayment over floor joists?
Reply by HoskingHardwood : 2 inch flooring staples or 2 inch cleat nails see more here  - Recommended Size for Flooring Staples 
By:
Date: March 18, 2018
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
How do you clean hardwood floors?
Reply by HoskingHardwood : Hi Lynne that information is under the Folder Tab "Floor Care" in the grey part of the header at the the top of the page.
By:
Date: February 20, 2018
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
You have shared such a fantastic thought about solid hardwood flooring. It really helps before installation process. I really like your faqs ideas. Thanks for sharing such a valuable information with us.
By:
Date: February 14, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
One of the most informative articles.
By:
Date: February 14, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
One of the most informative articles.
By:
Date: January 7, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative
By:
Date: December 6, 2017
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Good overview of your hardwood flooring -- the flooring I believe was installed in my condo. My pressing question wasnt answered in your article: Whenever we clean the floor -- commercial floor cleaner (like Swiffer products), or even just plain water, the floor gets sticky. For first few days were sticking as we walk. What should I use to clean it, and how often? Thanks
By:
Date: December 6, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I found it to be very informative.
By:
Date: November 26, 2017
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
This article was very informative and gave me what I needed to ask a vendor/contractor.
By:
Date: September 21, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Can i used 6 inches width hard wood maple on a basketball court ? Is there such effect becouse of its wideness
By:
Date: July 25, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent discussion about installing hardwood flooring over existing floors / underlayments.
By:
Date: July 3, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Awesome site, explained things so well. Thank you
By:
Date: June 27, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I am having trouble finding out what the limits are for installing hardwood floors without the use of any sub-floor, i.e. nailing it directly onto the joists. Can you help?
By:
Date: March 23, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very well explained . All the question I had all solved. Thanks.
By:
Date: March 3, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Glad I found your site.
By:
Date: December 9, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Just what I needed to know! Awesome!!
By:
Date: December 9, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Wood flooring is measured by the face of the board. Commonly 2-1/4 wide. Over the years wood flooring has also been manufactured in different width such as 2-1/2 wide (which is an older style). To duplicate that width now the flooring would have to be custom made for you.
By:
Date: December 9, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
How is the width of the plank measured for tongue and groove boards? Is the tongue and/or groove portion included? I have boards that are clearly 2.5 inches wide when measuring across the finished surface. But, nobody seems to carry that. Subtracting the 0.25 inch representing the groove leaves me with the common 2.25 inch plank. Is that the case? Or is there actually a 2.5 inch plank somewhere?
By:
Date: November 18, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This is a great article! We install award winning solid wood floors in the DFW area. It is very true that homes with solid wood floors sell faster and for more than the asking price which is a triple benefit to the the seller, since homes that stay in the market long lose value.
By:
Date: October 1, 2016
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Your article was very good. I have installed tongue and groove floors before, and your prelim instruction were good. I would have liked to seen a price range if I wanted to have the floor professionally installed. Example: $2-$4 per sq foot. I have no clue
By:
Date: June 7, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great descriptive article. One of the best I have read!!
By:
Date: March 3, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Thank you. Was not familiar with name of the refinished flooring
By:
Date: February 21, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This article is very informative, easy to understand.
By:
Date: December 30, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
GREAT INFORMATIVE ARTICLE
By:
Date: January 7, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful I now know what I want .thank you
By:
Date: November 24, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful. My contractor is recommending 3 1/4 inch strained, which means removing sections of existing flooring in my house. Now Im confident that my choice of keeping 2 1/4 inch and no stain is just as good.
By:
Date: September 15, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This great article that puts relevant pieces of information in sequence is worth the read.
By:
Date: September 15, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great article that puts relevant pieces of information in sequence.
By:
Date: August 13, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
learned a great deal about what to choose.
By:
Date: June 16, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I thought it was a terrific article. Very informative!
By:
Date: May 18, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very good especially the part about the different subfloors. This is not provided on most other sites. Also grading of wood helps. Great job and THANK YOU! ! !
By:
Date: March 22, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Im assuming that the rating scale is a five being the best. My husband and I live in a turn of the century home with original floors. We are beginning our search for new hardwood flooring and I happened upon your page. Very helpful and very informative for DIYers! Thanks.
By:
Date: March 2, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent review! Thanks!
By:
Date: February 10, 2014
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Very good information. Thorough.
By:
Date: December 8, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very informative information as to moisture levels waist. I do know if you dont have enough material to finish your job, you may have to wait 2 to 3 weeks to complete the project. Would like to knwo if there is a recommended max lenght of width to keep from having an installiation problem?
By:
Date: November 10, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Helpful! Thanks
By:
Date: November 5, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
great info and easy to understand. Great way to build trust when you educate the consumer.
By:
Date: September 19, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and easy to understand.
By:
Date: September 12, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful. I have bookmarked it for further viewing. Thanks
By:
Date: August 2, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Liked learning about grading, behavior of wood, etc. Detailed enough to be a much more informed consumer
By:
Date: July 6, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very good information. This is my first time considering hardwood flooring and this information has been extremely helpful. My good friend Gloria, always says do your homework before buying anything. I can tell her that I have started my homework.
By:
Date: March 13, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
outstanding.... You just saved me a lot of time and agrivation with this article.
By:
Date: December 19, 2012
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very informative. All that is missiing is a brand by brand comparison. With so many choices, that would really help.
By:
Date: November 9, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
What is the standard price per sf
By:
Date: October 18, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative for a novice--thanks!
By:
Date: October 4, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you, informative article
By:
Date: September 16, 2012
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Thanks. One question - if I buy prefinished - can it be sanded, if necessary, one day - like the unfinished?
By:
Date: August 27, 2012
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Good Read.