Visitor Page Reviews

< Return To Page

Web Page:
by
Overall Rating: 4.8 stars - 434 reviews

By:
Date: August 31, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Extremely helpful information! Especially the tips about installing over existing hardwood.
By:
Date: February 27, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Can engineered flooring be laid over engineered flooring? Example, we used a thin flooring that was glued down. Contractor says it will be heck to get up, splintering etc. It is glued tight, just cannot be matched in thickness.
Reply by HoskingHardwood :

I can refer you to one of our articles "All about Subfloors" 

 

By:
Date: February 25, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great DIY help. I just ordered a Somerset engineered floor. I am sure I will be on this website when I begin installation.
Reply by HoskingHardwood : Hi Jim Thank you for your order! 
By:
Date: February 12, 2019
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very good article and guidance on engineered wood floors. Please let me know if engineered wood floors can be installed (floating Floor) parallel to the floor joists if the subfloor is 3/4 inch thick and joists are 14 inches apart. My e-mail address is a.didonato2.ad@gmail.com. Thank you.......... Angelo
Reply by HoskingHardwood : Engineered Floating floors can be installed parallel with the floor joists if the existing subfloor is flat with no bounce when walked on. 
By:
Date: January 28, 2019
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
i thought i knew most things about engineered flooring ,old dogs can learn new tricks
By:
Date: October 23, 2018
Page Rating: (3.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks for adding a good blog and would like to add more points related to it
By:
Date: October 14, 2018
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I live in N Texas with 100+ degree summers and high humidity and 30-60 days of cold winter weather. We prefer a glued down over our concrete floor using engineered wood in a medium to dark wood that can be restained at a later date at least once. We can’t afford the high end but a mid price range maybe doable. $4-6 sq ft if possible. What do you suggest?
By:
Date: October 13, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent reading material.
By:
Date: October 5, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I learned a lot about engineered flooring. The explanations are consumer friendly. Thank you.
By:
Date: September 26, 2018
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks for sending a good blog and would like to en light in this
By:
Date: September 11, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent!
By:
Date: September 11, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This article was very informative and I have learned a lot about engineered wood that is going to help me when I decide to do my floors.
By:
Date: September 9, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Will be building spring 2019 in Rapid City area. What brands would you recommend for this area: 3/4", 4+mm wear layer, planks. Compare your costs plus shipping plus installation.
Reply by HoskingHardwood : We would suggest Vintage Hardwood Flooring for your specifications, they manufacture a Northern 3/4 engineered hardwood floor with a thick  4 mm wear layer. Shipping costs can be found by simply entering the cartons needed and where its to be shipped into the shopping cart. 
By:
Date: September 3, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Wouldve been great to include a comparison of the best brands ant products
Reply by HoskingHardwood : Then we would be considered biased in some minds. We do show "our" ratings next to each item specifications. 
By:
Date: July 23, 2018
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
This article has been for the most part, unbiased and informative.
Reply by HoskingHardwood : Thank you Sharon we do try and be unbiased and truthful stating facts within our own articles. We do have our own rating system for people who want to know what our opinions are about a particular product next to each product specifications prior to purchasing from us. 
By:
Date: July 11, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information and material. Great for millions of people looking for floors.
By:
Date: June 2, 2018
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Not finished yet just getting started figuring out what I need to do. Yes this article was very helpful. Thanks.
By:
Date: April 3, 2018
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
I always wanted hardwood floors in my home. Now, after talking with a lot of people from home owners to flooring professionals, I am seriously interested in engineered hardwood. I found your article very helpful. Thanks so much.
By:
Date: April 2, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful info about quality and wear layers thanks!
By:
Date: April 2, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
We were very impressed with the information and education of your article Thank you.
By:
Date: February 20, 2018
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Thank God! Do you have any idea how many people selling flooring do not know their own product lines??? Your article was very helpful. Thank you.
By:
Date: February 13, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative as well as extremely useful. I am attempting to purchase some new flooring in early summer but have not been successful in learning about the wear level etc. & its importance until reading your article. Very good.
By:
Date: February 8, 2018
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very helpful, especially for a rookie.
By:
Date: January 19, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great educational article,
By:
Date: January 18, 2018
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very well written and informative.
By:
Date: November 22, 2017
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
I dont buy The max depth of sanding a hardwood species to be 5/16 in before you hit the staple, otherwise the other comments are reasonably accurate
By:
Date: October 16, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you for this informative article! I have had old real wood floors, new real wood floors, and engineered wood floors, and the engineered wood is hands down the winner! However, the previous owner unfortunately did not continue the engineered wood throughout the house, and we have spent years trying to match it, as Mohawk no longer makes it or anything like it. Some of it has to do with fads- the wider planks are the "trend" this week, but you would think a classic 3" width would always be available. Then theres our color, a medium-light warm tone which matches the stunning hardwood doors and trim throughout our house. The trend is to paint over all that gorgeous wood, which forever ruins the wood and kills the value of our 1960s 6-panel doors (a painted door doesnt have to be top quality material, but exposed wood does), but then you can pick whatever color floors you want or is shown on some TV home makeover show. Personally, Id rather work with what our house was blessed with.
By:
Date: October 3, 2017
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very informative. This allows me to make a better informed decision. Thank you.
By:
Date: October 3, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I now have a better understanding of engineered flooring. Think that may be the way I will go on my new floor
By:
Date: September 23, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very useful information for first time installers (purchasers) of engineered flooring.
By:
Date: September 23, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
As a novice to the floor industry, I found this to be helpful and easy to understand the options. I believe this article helped me make my choice with easy and confidence. Now, to get the husband to agree.
By:
Date: August 20, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great informative article I always thought engineered hw was cheap. Now I may purchase it!!
By:
Date: August 10, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This was very enlightening cause I didnt think I could use this in a kitchen. I learned a lot now Im comfortable buying thanks
By:
Date: August 1, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Nice article for a novice like me who is about to decide on the type of flooring for his home
By:
Date: July 26, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good and useful information.
By:
Date: July 25, 2017
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Im currently shopping for hardwood flooring and found this article to be very informative since I knew little about engineered flooring. Thank You
By:
Date: June 25, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent resources, very user friendly. I appreciate the links!
By:
Date: May 28, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I am passionate about technical writing, having done a fair amount myself. This article is one of the best, if not the very best, of any tech writing I have seen. It covers the topic well, and is exemplary in style and clarity.
By:
Date: May 23, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and useful article. I am glad you pointed out the thickness of top layer of engineered wood flooring. I didnt to see any information on the type where the top (reasonably thick) layer is glued to some type of hardboard (like laminate flooring) instead of layered plywood. Would not it lower the cost of the final product?
By:
Date: May 9, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful as I shop for flooring
By:
Date: March 31, 2017
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very thoughtful, well designed web page. The only thing I did not see was a discussion of glues used, some being more toxic than others. Im trying to avoid formaldehyde off-gassing. Thx.
By:
Date: March 25, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative.
By:
Date: March 25, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative.
By:
Date: March 25, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative.
By:
Date: March 16, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Was unsure what to buy now I am convinced thanks to this information I have made up my mind to go with engineered flooring.
By:
Date: March 15, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Do you have local retail stores in the Chicagoland area?
By:
Date: March 14, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Fanbloody good show!
By:
Date: February 27, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you for summarizing excellent information in an understandable form
By:
Date: February 8, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks for all the great information.
By:
Date: February 7, 2017
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent
By:
Date: December 12, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
looking for better quality engineered wood, need about 1000 sq ft. above ground. Recommend your best manufacturers, must be u.s or canada made.
By:
Date: December 3, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Extremely informative and easy to understand. Thank you!
By:
Date: November 16, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I would prefer if you would offer a list of brand name suggestions that the user may research.
By:
Date: November 16, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I have 2 small dogs that stay in house, sometimes they have accidents, how water resistant is engineered vrs. wood look vinyl?
By:
Date: September 27, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information.
By:
Date: September 22, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative.
By:
Date: September 22, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and helpful!
By:
Date: September 14, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very informative!! Im exploring options for replacing my floors and this article has been very helpful.
By:
Date: September 10, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Excellent information in a concise format. As a soon to be home buyer, this has been invaluable.
By:
Date: September 7, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. I will probably install engineered wood flooring as a result of your article.I will need to have it done for me as I am an older gentleman (veteran) and partially disabled. Thank you
By:
Date: August 30, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very Helpful
By:
Date: August 24, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Written with clarity, brevity and impact. Dispelled misconceptions and provided a path forward. Thanks
By:
Date: August 22, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very informative. Thanks!
By:
Date: August 7, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very nice presentation. I almost bought one go the inexpensive "China" brands until I saw customer reviews.
By:
Date: July 15, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Excellent presentation! Just starting the process of considering replacement of laminate and definitely a novice in this area. Live in a HIGH humidity area and was pleased with your honesty. Thank You!!!!
By:
Date: July 10, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
It explained what I need to know about replacing carpeted floors with wood. And, it also explained about the benefits of engineered wood - thanks.
By:
Date: July 7, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Just what I was looking for. Very helpful. Thank you, I appreciate it!
By:
Date: June 12, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great information
By:
Date: June 10, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very good. Well written and informative.8
By:
Date: June 9, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great info, helps with choosing the right style, width, etc.
By:
Date: June 7, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
great reading.. I have an important question. I live near the ocean in new York. heating and low humidity in winter causes the engineered floor to contract and dry out.. what is the remedy for this?
By:
Date: May 27, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
good info
By:
Date: May 27, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
good info
By:
Date: May 20, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I purchased a new home in a Toll Bros community 10 yrs ago. I chose engineered wood flooring go living, dining and family rooms. After 10 yrs the dark wood is scratched and ugly. We have been using a mixture of vinegar and water to clean which worked for my housekeeper but now I have to do it myself and I dont know the ratio she used. PLEASE HELP
By:
Date: May 16, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Superb detailed information.
By:
Date: May 7, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent source of information without a sales pitch. I learned a lot about things I had not considered
By:
Date: April 20, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
i learned all that I wanted to look up and things I hadnt considered. Very informative
By:
Date: April 3, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very good
By:
Date: March 31, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very good
By:
Date: March 24, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Your article is one of the best that I have seen about engineered flooring. I have been selling homes and typically high end homes where this question comes up more than ever. My clients typically have a negative attitude toward engineered flooring which is why I started searching for answers to their questions. I would like to be able to direct them to sites that can help them. Im also trying to find samples of flooring to show them as well. Often they will be installing new flooring and wood is becoming the choice more than ever.
By:
Date: March 22, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I am planning to use engineered hardwood for five rooms. I am doing the first one DIY to see if I want to do them all myself, or hire an installer.
By:
Date: March 20, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
In the infant stages of installing engineered hardwood in my home. I am going to have it professionally done, no DIY. Too expensive to practice on.
By:
Date: March 19, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent! I thought I already knew everything about engineered hardwood floors, but I just didnt know how much I didnt know.
By:
Date: March 17, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful information. Can stairways be made of engineered hardwood?
By:
Date: March 17, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful information. Can stairways be made of engineered hardwood?
By:
Date: March 17, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful information. Can stairways be made of engineered hardwood?
By:
Date: March 8, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very good information to know. Much appreicated.
By:
Date: March 7, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Really helpful information. Very well outlined. Thank you!
By:
Date: March 2, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Are any of your engineered wood from china?
By:
Date: February 21, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
the information is the best and to the point
By:
Date: February 18, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Provided me with answers
By:
Date: February 11, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very well explained differences between brands of ENGINEERED HARDWOOD
By:
Date: February 8, 2016
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
I liked how informative it was on installing and wear but there was nothing on how to care for an engineered or regular wood floor. What is the upkeep difference and maintaince?
By:
Date: February 7, 2016
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Confirms what I was thinking.
By:
Date: February 6, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Would you install Quarter and rift sawn wide plank oak or engineered oak over radiant heat that is installed on a wood subfloor not on concrete. We live in new England and have central air conditioning
By:
Date: February 2, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
IS THERE ANY ENGINEERED HARDWOOD THAT IS NOT INTERLOCKING? I WANT TO MIX WOOD WITH TILE ON MY CONCRETE FLOOR AND NEED SMOOTH EDGES TO BUTT UP AGAINST THE TILES.
By:
Date: February 1, 2016
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Its a very nice blog post. I found some inceadible information related to the topic which was i looking.
By:
Date: January 16, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Honest, informative and straightforward. Ill be buying Hosking when Im ready. Thanks
By:
Date: January 10, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Has helped us decide on the type flooring to purchase.
By:
Date: January 10, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Has helped us decide on the type flooring to purchase.
By:
Date: January 7, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This article is super helpful and cleared up a lot of questions I had!
By:
Date: January 6, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good info.
By:
Date: January 6, 2016
Page Rating: (1.0/5)
Comments:
I hope # 1 rating is the best. Your article Cleared up a lot of questions w/o the sale persons BS... Thanks!
By:
Date: January 3, 2016
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I know a lot more now about engineered wood.Great Job.
By:
Date: December 31, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I now have a better understanding of engineered wood flooring.
By:
Date: December 29, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great article!
By:
Date: December 20, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great article, I too would have liked the names of some good manufacturers in all price ranges
By:
Date: December 11, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Your article was great, we are planning on having hardwood floors placed in our new home, however we were concerned because we have dogs that havent learned to wipe their feet when they come in so wasnt sure hardwood would be an option. Thanks for educating us on the different choices.
By:
Date: November 29, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Excellent article. Adding the names of higher quality products would have been of help.
By:
Date: November 29, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good info
By:
Date: November 21, 2015
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Good article and told me everything but what I wanted to know. The "scratch" factor. How resistant is engineered hardwood to scratches compared to regular hardwood?Do I have to pads on all my furniture?
By:
Date: November 10, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
good information
By:
Date: November 7, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative
By:
Date: November 5, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great information Thanks
By:
Date: November 5, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you for the information, it is very helpful!
By:
Date: November 3, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I have been looking to install engineered wood flooring and have read a lot about the subject from a number of web sites. This article is very clear and comprehensive; consolidating all of the key points. It cuts through a lot of the fluff.
By:
Date: October 30, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful. Now I need to find the best engineer floor for the best price.
By:
Date: October 25, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very good overview of engineered hardwood. No I know what questions to ask.
By:
Date: October 23, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
By "5" I mean excellent. Highest rating. Your scale doesnt make that clear. Very succinct and informative, with no obvious bias. Thank you.
By:
Date: October 22, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great info, thanks
By:
Date: October 21, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
VERY INFORMATIVE
By:
Date: October 12, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
At this time, I just wanted information. You answered all my questions to this point with no pressure to buy. I appreciate that!!
By:
Date: October 12, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
It was informative
By:
Date: October 4, 2015
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
my contractor recommended an engineered flooring be installed where we are taking out carpet. Another told us to use the flooring that clicks together. Now we are completely confused! Help!
By:
Date: October 3, 2015
Page Rating: (3.0/5)
Comments:
BETTER
By:
Date: September 21, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Would like specific name brands
By:
Date: September 8, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I have installed hardwood flooring a number of times. not too familiar with others. thanks for help learning the diff.
By:
Date: September 7, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Good education on what to consider for the flooring.
By:
Date: August 30, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and in laymans terms!
By:
Date: August 25, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
excellent
By:
Date: August 24, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information for a novice such as myself. Keep up the good work!!
By:
Date: August 20, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This site would have saved me hrs, two weeks ago. Fantastic, Thanks guys
By:
Date: August 18, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Greatly informative
By:
Date: August 17, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I want to use the same high quality hand-scraped engineered wood flooring that run continuously through great room,bedroom and Master Bath, can the same flooring be installed throughout? I dont want to change when entering the master bath area.
By:
Date: August 17, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information. I am so glad I found your website. THANKS
By:
Date: August 13, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Good intro info to the product
By:
Date: August 11, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very good & informative
By:
Date: August 11, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This was great. Some of the merchants mislead you about what you can use on concrete and whether they can be refinished
By:
Date: August 8, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very articulate, informative and well documented. Thanks,
By:
Date: August 6, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent info!
By:
Date: August 5, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I have American Cherry Engineered Flooring and it is beautiful. Water & vinegar is all that is needed for cleaning & shine.
By:
Date: August 5, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent article. Very helpful for newbie like me.
By:
Date: August 4, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Only thing missing was is there a difference between cleaning hardwood vs engineers floors
By:
Date: July 27, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
good explanations!
By:
Date: July 27, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Answered my questions in full, and confirmed what I had been told by a supplier.
By:
Date: July 24, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
A useful summary of engineered flooring.
By:
Date: July 21, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Im trying to learn about flooring materials, so this page has been most helpful. Glad I found the site.
By:
Date: July 12, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
more info than anywhere else very professional very helpful
By:
Date: July 5, 2015
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
good article
By:
Date: July 4, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
very helpful
By:
Date: June 26, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
excellent, informative, well written
By:
Date: June 19, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great article
By:
Date: June 18, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent article. You need to tell us which companies are reputable. Bruce has been around a long time...but I hear nothing good about them. So much for the statement that the companies that have been around a long time are the ones to trust. Am I right here, or, am I drawing incorrect conclusions?
By:
Date: June 13, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful overview. I know you cant really recommend brands, but it might be helpful to note the trusted names that have been around awhile. U.S. made would be nice too!
By:
Date: June 12, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Thank you.
By:
Date: June 11, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Just what I needed! Very informative and easy to follow. I feel much more confident now.
By:
Date: May 21, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very, very informative. Confirmed that we made a good decision when we purchased engineered flooring 15 years ago. Now extending into bedrooms.
By:
Date: May 19, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I would like also to know the difference between engineered hardwood and laminated hardwood
By:
Date: May 14, 2015
Page Rating: (1.0/5)
Comments:
Great information. I install this product daily!
By:
Date: May 12, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I know a lot more about wood now that I read your article very informative
By:
Date: May 11, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This is a great article; I have been viewing flooring now for 4 weeks and until I read this article did not understand what I was looking at. Mostly junk now that I know more. Thanks a lot you have opened my eyes.
By:
Date: May 5, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very good time NFO, well explained and immensely helpful!
By:
Date: May 1, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent coverage of the topic!
By:
Date: April 24, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very, very good and informative...
By:
Date: April 12, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Just what I needed to learn to avoid making a costly mistake of purchasing what appeared to be a bargain "looks just as good flooring"
By:
Date: April 10, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative article! Many thanks!
By:
Date: April 10, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Now I have decided to use engineering hardwood for my living and dining rooms. Quality article!
By:
Date: April 9, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This article answered many questions and gave more answers that I had not even thought of. Thank you
By:
Date: April 3, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
excellent article
By:
Date: March 31, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
God thank you that was amazingly helpful
By:
Date: March 29, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
thank you for illuminating the very complex process of choosing a floor cost thousands of dollars
By:
Date: March 26, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Good article
By:
Date: March 20, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
very well done review. a few more pictures of the various qualities for comparison would help.
By:
Date: March 20, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful.It provided me with what I needed to know before we buy our next house
By:
Date: March 19, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very useful article. I fear there is no place in America where the humidity range never falls outside the floor manufacturers specified limits.
By:
Date: March 18, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
You made the information very understandable to a very uninformed woman seeking some knowledge in this area. Great job!
By:
Date: March 14, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
It is very good, I feel more confident with our decision to put engineers wood floors.
By:
Date: March 11, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Informative, answered a lot of questions that I had. Now I feel more confident of purchasing my new floor. Thanks
By:
Date: March 10, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I am very concerned about the reports of flooring products make made in China
By:
Date: March 10, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This was great info. Thanks for publishing it.
By:
Date: March 9, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Good general information. Would be even better if you could tell us how that distributors use.
By:
Date: March 3, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I looked at the $2-$4/sq ft Engineered floors,better to buy quality 4-6mm top layer
By:
Date: March 2, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
very informative, thank you
By:
Date: March 1, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This article was SO helpful. I was considering bamboo flooring, but there were awful reviews so wasnt sure where I should look. Am having my contractor check out this site right now!!
By:
Date: February 20, 2015
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Fantastic resource. Now I understand the term engineered hardwood flooring. Know how it is made and what I need to look for. Thanks you are a great resource.
By:
Date: February 9, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Thank you.
By:
Date: February 8, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
great article. answered many of the questions I had about flooring over concrete. thanks
By:
Date: February 6, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This helped me so much. Thank you
By:
Date: February 5, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great article, thanks for the clear explanation. I think Im going to use engineered wood for my home.
By:
Date: February 4, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Answered all my questions
By:
Date: January 29, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Hope 5.0 is the top rating for this helpful and informative article. Thanks for the info. Will help me make a flooring material decision.
By:
Date: January 22, 2015
Page Rating: (1.0/5)
Comments:
Sounds like youre trying to sell laminate WOOD flooring by calling it hardwood or engineered flooring.
By:
Date: January 11, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This was a very good article explaining engineered flooring. I feel I totally understand the difference between this and regular flooring. I hope you can also explain laminate flooring. We are in the market and I want to be sure to get the right product. You dont mention how well the hold up to pets and possible scratching with chairs. Very good work though. I hope you have more.
By:
Date: January 10, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
The better informed a buyer is, the less chance of making a bad decision.
By:
Date: January 7, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent primer on engineered hardwood flooring!
By:
Date: January 4, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
great info
By:
Date: January 4, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Liked the fact that pros and cons were discussed as well as answering most questions a customer would ask.
By:
Date: January 1, 2015
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This was a great inductor article. I agree with other comments in regards to brand suggestions. My husband and I went to some of the big box stores and no one mentioned the wear thickness.
By:
Date: December 31, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative, answered many questions I had.
By:
Date: December 31, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I would like to know of some of the brands that I should look at
By:
Date: December 19, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good
By:
Date: December 17, 2014
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
very informative. Did not see situation where flooring installed over Press-Board. Also, the article suggest Eng-flooring is 3/4 thick, most I saw in the stores was around 3/8.
By:
Date: December 14, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you, this article was very helpful.
By:
Date: December 11, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and helpful
By:
Date: December 2, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
The article is quite informative. My only question now would be that I have a manufactured home that sits approx. 1.5 feet above the ground. I would like to use engineered hardwood as my flooring - can I use it in this application? Thank you.
By:
Date: November 13, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great article. I have a cement slab so I know I want click lock engineered hardwood but I have seen so many different kinds. The big box stores mostly sell the kind with an HDF core, which makes it pretty much the same as laminate - you cant get drops of water on it and you cant sand it. I have been looking for the plywood layer type of engineered flooring online but most websites dont tell you the wear layer thickness or what is under the veneer (plywood vs. HDF). I would include a cross-cut pic of the cheap stuff on here so people can see the difference
By:
Date: November 2, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Really useful information.
By:
Date: November 1, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Helpful information, I didnt know how much you have to consider before purchasing hardwood flooring.
By:
Date: October 26, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative!!!
By:
Date: October 26, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information
By:
Date: October 25, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you. This was very informative.
By:
Date: October 21, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Fabulously written!!!
By:
Date: October 18, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank You so much, we are buying a 30 year old home, and putting in new "wood" floors. This really helped show how engineered is the way to go, and how to select the best ones.
By:
Date: October 6, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Told me just what I needed to know about engineered wood flooring
By:
Date: October 5, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I have been researching and considering a number of flooring options. I recently made a decision to go with Engineered Wood flooring. Now that I have read this article, I am quite reassured that I made the right choice as I went with a 2mm American made product. It may not be top of the line, but you told me this is waaay better than the more affordable options at discount stores. Thank you for the reassurance. Wish I had seen this article sooner, it might have saved me a few nights tossing and turning. Thank you very much.
By:
Date: October 5, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very good article to help the novice make good choices and understand the product ... Thanks
By:
Date: October 2, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
helpful
By:
Date: September 27, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good article.. i knew nothing about Engineered flooring until my son in law told me about it this morning.
By:
Date: September 20, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Its helping pick beteen hardwood and engineered floors
By:
Date: September 18, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Your Website has been a key research source for our remodel of our entire first floor. We purchased Shaw engineered from a local vendor. Unfortunately, I didnt check for customer service reports on Shaw flooring. Had I done so, I would have avoided similar problems of my own.
By:
Date: September 13, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good articles on engineered flooring
By:
Date: September 10, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Thanks so much.
By:
Date: September 6, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very clear, easy to read. Thanks, it helped a lot.
By:
Date: September 6, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative
By:
Date: September 5, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I am painstakingly trying to make a decision on what wood flooring to have installed in my new construction condo..Being retired and living on a fixed income I want to be sure I am getting the best "kick" for my buck, and I have found that the sales people I have consulted with are giving me mixed answers, so I am very confused......most of the builders sample pieces are acacia engineered pieces.......I do not know the manufacturer...need more info before deciding
By:
Date: September 3, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very good info
By:
Date: September 1, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very helpful. thank you
By:
Date: August 26, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very good information
By:
Date: August 18, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful and reasuring as to what kind of flooring I want to use as well as what to look out for in less expensive products. Thank you.
By:
Date: August 6, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent so well informed now to purchase my " engineered 4mm wear layer floors" thank you
By:
Date: August 4, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks for this helpful article; one topic I would like to see addressed is the number of plywood layers beneath the hardwood and the bonding methods? We have heard different things from vendors about having multiple layers of plywood running in different directions v. one thicker layer of supporting wood beneath (all running in the same direction). Which resists humidity better? Warps less? Resists damage better?
By:
Date: August 2, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative for a person who has no experience in remodeling.
By:
Date: July 30, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great information. We now feel comfortable with proceeding with engineered flooring in our new (no basement) home!
By:
Date: July 26, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I am installing an engineered wood flooring and the planks have as much as 5/8" bowing. How do I install the flooring
By:
Date: July 24, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very helpful-dispelled a lot of myths regarding engineered hardwood and gave good information on how to choose an engineered hardwood
By:
Date: July 22, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you, The article very helpful.
By:
Date: July 21, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very good article. Thank you.
By:
Date: July 19, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and no high pressure sales pitch
By:
Date: July 16, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I am from the Uk and have struggled to find independent, professional advice - this web page delivers on all fronts. Thank you.
By:
Date: July 12, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Did not know much about engineered flooring. Was set on using 6" hardwood planks. Engineered flooring was a lot cheaper. But when I was told all were equal,its the name u pay for. That was my red flag. Thank you for info to make proper choice in wood flooring.
By:
Date: July 11, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Good advice
By:
Date: July 8, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
New to this flooring thing.best information yet!
By:
Date: July 6, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information for our project! Thank you!!
By:
Date: July 5, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Is engineered wood safe and proper to use in a kitchen. What about water leaks from appliances? wsewall@reagan.com
By:
Date: July 5, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Just what I needed too help me make a decition..thank you
By:
Date: July 4, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Quite informative and addressed every area of concern.
By:
Date: July 4, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very informative - answered all my questions...thanks
By:
Date: July 4, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
thank you very informative
By:
Date: June 17, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks for the great information. Too much to learn at one sitting. Lots to review.
By:
Date: June 9, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks for the info
By:
Date: June 4, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
very interesting. would have appreciated a gauge of prices vs wear thickness
By:
Date: June 1, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Wow extremely! Extremely helpful article I feel like I can make an informed buying decision now!
By:
Date: May 27, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks for all the valuable info. I have a old 1918 farmhouse that I am redoing and need to replace 3 rooms of wood flooring that are splintered and damaged. I like the looks of the engineered flowering vs just the plain hardwood.
By:
Date: May 24, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent I have found this article to be most helpful..
By:
Date: May 20, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very helpful - thank you
By:
Date: May 12, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful.
By:
Date: May 8, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
covered alot in 3-4 pages
By:
Date: May 7, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent info
By:
Date: April 29, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks!! Exactly what I needed to know so that I can shop and my contractor isnt wasting time with me!!
By:
Date: April 24, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and answered all of my questions.
By:
Date: April 22, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and concise article- very helpful to me. Thank you.
By:
Date: April 21, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very informative. Thanks.
By:
Date: April 19, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information...
By:
Date: April 18, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very interesting
By:
Date: April 13, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks for the info.
By:
Date: April 12, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great. Helped me to make a decision.
By:
Date: April 5, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
more info on how to care for it and things to make the floor last longer.
By:
Date: April 3, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very informative.
By:
Date: March 30, 2014
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Informative and easy to understand.
By:
Date: March 28, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great information!!!
By:
Date: March 10, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good information.
By:
Date: February 25, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
great job
By:
Date: February 21, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Best information I have found! (Wish others were so forthright ...)
By:
Date: February 14, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
In researching hardwood floors for the past week or so, this is, by far, the best unbiased information I have found. THANK YOU!
By:
Date: February 13, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent article. Very informative.
By:
Date: February 6, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This is a great article and was very helpful.
By:
Date: February 5, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
You bring much clarity to the engineered wood issues.
By:
Date: January 31, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Extremely informative!!!!!! This article has sold me on engineered flooring over solid wood or laminated....not to mention the cost factor
By:
Date: January 23, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent article! Very informative & helpful! Thank you,
By:
Date: January 13, 2014
Page Rating: (2.5/5)
Comments:
Some interesting information, but nothing that really told me what to ask about when looking at potential floors, nor what I was really looking for, installation tips. My particular issue is what to put between the floor and our concrete subfloor, how to achieve best sound deadening (were upstairs in a multi-story condo)] and how to install what goes between. (i.e. if Im going with cork, does it float or glue down. Is there something I should use instead of cork?]
By:
Date: January 11, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
fantastic thanks
By:
Date: January 10, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative,easy to understand and now able to discuss issues with installer. Will save info for references.
By:
Date: January 10, 2014
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very helpful
By:
Date: January 8, 2014
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Really helpful in understanding engineered wood flooring. It reads very well.
By:
Date: January 6, 2014
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Informative. Looking for care and maintenance of engineered wood floors.
By:
Date: December 13, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
great info. would like info on how to soften the feel of wood flooring put on top of cement slab.
By:
Date: December 11, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Youve given me enough great easy to understand information to shop for an engineered wood flooring product
By:
Date: November 21, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I am thinking of replacing my carpet with the enginered floors. Lot of great information. Thank you
By:
Date: November 10, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very thorough, informative and helpful information on an often misunderstood subject. Thank you
By:
Date: October 30, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Most clearly stated explanation about the properties of Engineered Wood flooring, Ive read - and Ive been trying to research this for a whole-house re-do!
By:
Date: October 29, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very good information. Clarified several questions I had
By:
Date: October 29, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
good help with learning about flooring
By:
Date: October 22, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I am doing some research on engineered wood for my house.I want to have it done in my entire house.
By:
Date: October 21, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Looking for an education, and avoiding a costly mistake.
By:
Date: October 18, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very good
By:
Date: October 17, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Id like information about installing engineered flooring over radiant heat. Ive heard its the only wood flooring to use for that.
By:
Date: October 15, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
My dark eng. floor show everything. I think it needs a protective coating on it so footprints dont show. Can I put polyurethane on it?
By:
Date: October 14, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I found the article very informative. My original question was can you have different types of flooring for connecting rooms.
By:
Date: October 13, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
thank you
By:
Date: October 9, 2013
Page Rating: (1.0/5)
Comments:
I would like more info about the formaldehyde level. Ratings? Also, about possible specific smells. My engineered floor stinks.
By:
Date: October 6, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent article. It gives me enough information to arm me with the right questions to ask and determine the best product and value for my money.
By:
Date: September 29, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This article was extremely informative. I thought I would never be able to have hardwoods in my concrete slab home.
By:
Date: September 28, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I knew nothing about engineered flooring. This article helped me know which type of flooring to buy. I do not understand page rating.
By:
Date: September 28, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This is the most informative and helpful, detailed article on hardwood and engineered flooring I have read in the last 2 weeks of research.
By:
Date: September 28, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Article was very helpful, except I would have liked a phone number to call with more questions, especially the click & lock flooring.
By:
Date: September 26, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Just the information I need. Thanks!
By:
Date: September 22, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great information. Very helpful article Thanks
By:
Date: September 20, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you for this valuable article, it has helped me be better informed about what to look for in the wood flooring Im about to purchase.
By:
Date: September 16, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative.
By:
Date: September 10, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you so much for this article. It was excellent, easy to understand and so helpful.Im new and had no idea of all the diffrences. Thanks again!
By:
Date: September 2, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you. Now I understand the differences.
By:
Date: August 30, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I have been doing my research on engineered flooring for days. This article was by far the best, and most informative.
By:
Date: August 27, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great article
By:
Date: August 27, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Thank you.
By:
Date: August 26, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you for this informative explanation of engineered floors. I was reading reviews about laminates and several reviewers suggested engineered floors. Whats engineered floors. I have a much better understanding now. I will probably go with an engineered floor over the laminates for my living and dining room floors. Thank you for not being too technical for this rookie to understand!
By:
Date: August 24, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
It is a great primer. The only thing I would add is the relative wear factor of various woods. I am looking for something durable for a rental.
By:
Date: August 24, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Info on cheaper vs. more expensive ("wear layer") and moisture factors not seen in other on-line sites.
By:
Date: August 12, 2013
Page Rating: (3.0/5)
Comments:
Can you tell me what type of wheel casters to use on a engineered wood floor?
By:
Date: August 12, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Wonderful info
By:
Date: August 8, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Best article yet. Can you help me understand wood vs mdf cores and infused acrylic claims?
By:
Date: July 26, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you for the informative article which will help me make a decision about my flooring choices.
By:
Date: July 18, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Hands-down the most informative and inclusive article on wood flooring.
By:
Date: July 17, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Very informative to the core.This should sell my next job.
By:
Date: July 11, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative, thank you for taking the time to write it.
By:
Date: July 6, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
very informative
By:
Date: July 4, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and has eased my concerns regarding purchase of engineered flooring. I know what to look for now. Thanks
By:
Date: June 26, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent article! I am installing Eng Wood in an RV, so would have liked some RV info such as thickness in mm, and width of plank (3 inch most likely). Your article was very useful in understanding Eng Wood vs Laminate, and the best use of Eng Wood (moisture resistance). I will be contacting you soon. Many thanks!
By:
Date: June 15, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This article helped me immensely. I am old school and all wood, all natural must be better, but after reading I will go with the engineered flooring in my new home. I have a question which I will submit in the floorboards forum
By:
Date: June 15, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
A very good information page.
By:
Date: June 13, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. Thanks for the directness.
By:
Date: June 13, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I am a complete novice and now I have some real understanding. thank you
By:
Date: June 5, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
.
By:
Date: May 31, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
bamboo is out for us-plan on using EHW throughout. I will call you for advice-thanks
By:
Date: May 30, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and extremely helpful article.
By:
Date: May 28, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Considering Im a novice and am wanting to have new floors in my home, I think this article was well done and informative. Even I who knows zip about hardwood floors understood it all. Thanks.
By:
Date: May 25, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
We are building new home and it was suggested that engineered flooring over radiant heat is what to use.I think after reading this that is what we will use and now I now about the top covering and sanding.
By:
Date: May 9, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I found you artical on this subject was very informative and gave me a lot of food for thought. We live along the coast in Florida and my wife wants to have a couple of our rooms somethings other then tile.
By:
Date: April 29, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
helpful in choosing the floor but would like help on what named brands are the best.
By:
Date: April 25, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I live by the ocean and had a hardwood floor installed in my new home . We have openings in our floor and we have a wood on our main floor , basement is laminate would it have been better to use an engineered floor in tis environment we are very disappointed with hardwood floor which the flooring association says it is acceptable to have a gap of 1/8 on an inch . Just wondering if I have to remove the hardwood what to replace it with
By:
Date: April 22, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative but did not address the negative aspects of engineered wood floors. My husband and I purchased an Armstrong engineered floor eight months ago, and Im disappointed with its durability. It scratches easily, esp. with dogs!
By:
Date: April 22, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks for a very informative article
By:
Date: April 13, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
I learned an incredible amount but still have the same problem. Where can I go to see what Im buying?
By:
Date: April 12, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
this was a great article and helped me to understand the benefits and differences of wood flooring and engineered wood flooring. Thanks a lot!
By:
Date: April 11, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Best Ive seen.Very informative and easy to understand .
By:
Date: April 6, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very informative.
By:
Date: April 5, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
thank you for education.
By:
Date: April 5, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This information was very helpful.
By:
Date: April 5, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This information was very helpful.
By:
Date: April 2, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Answered all my questions and made me much better informed about engineered wood floors.
By:
Date: March 25, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Nice article, broken down in laymans terms and easy to understand.
By:
Date: March 22, 2013
Page Rating: (3.5/5)
Comments:
Excellent writing and very informative
By:
Date: March 21, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative!
By:
Date: March 17, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent article! We are currently shopping for engineered hardwood floors and we werent sure which brand/type would be best and this article helped a lot. Thank you!
By:
Date: March 16, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I would like to know how to re-finish a "Hand Scraped" floor?
By:
Date: March 15, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative
By:
Date: March 13, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
What about using in very dry climate?
By:
Date: March 12, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Good information
By:
Date: March 10, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Great article..just wish you would recommend some brands. There are so many and its hard to find all the information you mentioned in the article. Im overwhelmed and nervous about making a poor choice for something so important and expensive.
By:
Date: March 7, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
very helpful
By:
Date: March 6, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
excellent and very helpful thanks
By:
Date: March 5, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Information could go on forever regarding engineered flooring, but this article certainly provided me with lots of the basic, since were just starting this process. Thank you so much.
By:
Date: March 2, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
good job
By:
Date: February 24, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent article for someone who knows nothing about installing wood floors!
By:
Date: February 21, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
thank you.
By:
Date: February 12, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent article, but doesnt mention care. Can engineered wood be steam cleaned?
By:
Date: February 11, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
to the point no b s
By:
Date: February 7, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative
By:
Date: February 5, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Extremly informative - great for a newbie
By:
Date: February 5, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Helps me decide between a solid and engineered floor. Information on pre-finished flooring is most appreciated.
By:
Date: February 2, 2013
Page Rating: (1.0/5)
Comments:
What would cause the floor to crackle when you walk on it?
By:
Date: February 2, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very thorough information. I was determined to install solid and after reading this review I am now considering an engineered wood.
By:
Date: February 1, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This truely was "everything I wanted and needed to know.". Thank you.
By:
Date: January 29, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
installed a bamboo floor that has buckled/cupped due to moisture. Fault lies w/installer who never checked for moisture. can bamboo be reclaimed? why didnt glue w/moisture barrier built in stop the moisture. We live in S. Texas and humidity is high. This was never explained by installer and consumer does not know to ask. Now I do know what to ask-this has cost me thousands of dollars to find out. Wish I had read your article prior to installation.
By:
Date: January 28, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
You have answer all my question and made up my mind that I can get quality engineer flooring for my home and donot have to use solid wood. You also gave me the information to know how to shop for my flooring. Thank you.
By:
Date: January 26, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great article. The article gave a lot of informative information. Thank you
By:
Date: January 26, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative8
By:
Date: January 26, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Just the information I was looking for! Well organized article and very informative. Thanks!
By:
Date: January 22, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
excellent and informative
By:
Date: January 21, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information since I knew nothing about the differences. I also found the Q & A format easy to use and reference-thanks!
By:
Date: January 21, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very helpful in helping decide materials to replace damaged floor.
By:
Date: January 13, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent commentary. We are considering removing carpet and installing engimpneered hardwood and appreciate the education.
By:
Date: January 13, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent commentary. We are considering removing carpet and installing engimpneered hardwood and appreciate the education.
By:
Date: January 13, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Informative and easy to read.
By:
Date: January 12, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information, exactly what I was looking for!
By:
Date: January 11, 2013
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
comments. Would be useful to get at least the list of good quality engineered wood and some order of the cost/quality ratio
By:
Date: January 10, 2013
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
very helpful
By:
Date: January 8, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very informative,best i have found.
By:
Date: January 6, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you..this helped alot..
By:
Date: January 6, 2013
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This was terrific. Thanks!
By:
Date: January 2, 2013
Page Rating: (1.0/5)
Comments:
article is of no value
By:
Date: December 29, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Read this before going floor shopping and very glad I did.
By:
Date: December 28, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks for all the info! Most informative!!!!!!
By:
Date: December 6, 2012
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Learned quite a bit about engineered wood but still am not sure what to look for when puchasing
By:
Date: December 1, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
This article was very helpful. I now understand what specifications to look at when shopping for an engineered wood floor. Thank you. rb
By:
Date: December 1, 2012
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Excellent info, but I did not learn from article if engineered wood can be applied to rounded steps and if it has a bullnose. Any special features.
By:
Date: November 25, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent information. Makes me wish I lived in MA so I could have you install our floors.
By:
Date: November 20, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Good information. Very helpful
By:
Date: November 17, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I really enjoyed reading your articles about floating floors. It cleared up many questions that I had. Actually all of your articles on the web site were excellance. Thank you.
By:
Date: November 15, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thanks
By:
Date: November 13, 2012
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
Excellent article, as I am just in the planning stages of putting a new floor in a mountain cabin. I wish the article had listed a few names of the better quality manufacturers. Thanks
By:
Date: November 12, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Totally helped me understand what I need! As an older couple with no pets and no kids, we can certainly get buy without a very expensive flooring product. This helped me understand the different reasons to get a different type of floor. Thanks!
By:
Date: November 6, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very very informative
By:
Date: October 31, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you for an easy-to-understand article on this. We will likely put this in our new home.
By:
Date: October 27, 2012
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent for understanding the topic and well written. Some information on the coefficient of friction for the various finishes that can be applied would have been useful to me. I am looking to convert a large lounge to a ballroom practice dance studio, for which I require about 0.3 static and dynamic coefficient - likely using engineered maple.
By:
Date: October 27, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very helpful
By:
Date: October 25, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
needed to know durability with pets
By:
Date: October 25, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I learned a lot about engineered flooring from this article. I will use it in my big den in the next couple of weeks. Thanks a lot.
By:
Date: October 21, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Answered my questions before I asked.
By:
Date: October 21, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and helpful.
By:
Date: October 16, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Above imformation accurate clear and practical
By:
Date: October 15, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent tutorial for me, a person who does not know much about engineered flooring.
By:
Date: October 14, 2012
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
Great information. I made a trip yesterday to lumber liquidators and the salesman was more interested in what was on facebook.
By:
Date: October 13, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
I am ready to buy new flooring for my home. I really would like solid wood flooring, but I know my budget will not allow for such a luxury. I have been shopping and educating myself on other floor options. This article was very informative and I would recommended for anyone who is shopping for new flooring and is not sure how these products are manufactured.
By:
Date: October 12, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative
By:
Date: October 11, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great info answered a ton of questions. Wish some brands were recommended particularly for families with pets.
By:
Date: October 9, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative. I agree with Dar though. Wish you would give some recommendations on brands. Other than that is was extremely helpful.
By:
Date: October 6, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Awesome article. Explains what is important regarding engineered flooring and I will use as my foundation when shopping for flooring today.
By:
Date: October 5, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Well organized, concise and full of useful info. Just wish there were some recommended brands as I know nothing about this industry.
By:
Date: October 1, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Excellent article.
By:
Date: September 29, 2012
Page Rating: (4.0/5)
Comments:
excellent review.after reading i now know what i am looking for, and can make a proper informed decision. cheers!
By:
Date: September 28, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Thank you, Your article covered everything a salesman and I discussed. Very clearly stated.
By:
Date: September 28, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative and unbiased article
By:
Date: September 24, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Answered a lot of questions.
By:
Date: September 22, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Liked article
By:
Date: September 21, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Answered many question and helped me to choose the right flooring for my remodel!
By:
Date: September 20, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative,covers most questions
By:
Date: September 19, 2012
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
This article provided valuable information and I learned a lot. Need more info on hardwood strength
By:
Date: September 19, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
very good info!
By:
Date: September 15, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Great article and answered my questions and then some. Thank you!
By:
Date: September 11, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
told me evreything that i wanted to know in one paage
By:
Date: September 10, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Finally some straight to the point information. Thank You!
By:
Date: September 9, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
Very informative
By:
Date: August 30, 2012
Page Rating: (5.0/5)
Comments:
GREAT INFORMATION--NOW WHO MAKES THE BEST-LEAST QUALITY
By:
Date: August 15, 2012
Page Rating: (4.5/5)
Comments:
I appreciate the education. I didnt know what to look for. I feel more confident I can find a good quality product for a reasonable price. Thank You!